Skip to Main Content

Literature in English 1350-1550: Journal Articles

Journal articles on SOLO

Using keywords to search for your topic on SOLO will include journal articles when you use the Search Everything option, so it's possible to find many full-text journal articles via SOLO. 

Most of the journal articles in SOLO are provided via Primo Central, a cross-disciplinary resource comprising citations to about 400 million journal articles. Primo Central performs a broad search engine type search which is comparable to Google Scholar; specialist bibliographic databases tend to focus on specific subject areas and to provide more features and functionality, so you may also find it useful to search for journal articles in some of the bibliographic databases suggested on this page.

MLA Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

The MLA also provides links to the library catalogue and full text articles, where available. Library staff will be pleased to help with your searches wherever possible.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major journals.

Periodicals Archive Online

An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online offers unprecedented access to international, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 2000.

International Medieval Bibliography

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide.

All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Literature Online

Literature Online not only provides access to the full text of more than 350,000 British and American original works, it also provides access to articles from over 430 scholarly journals. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies.

 

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

  • English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
  • English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
  • bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
  • traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

Iter Bibliography

Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).