Skip to main content

FHS Course I - Paper 4: Literature in English 1660-1760: Biographical sources

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles - excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature, time periods and countries, placing writers (authors, journalists, biographers, etc.) and their publishers in the larger perspective of literary history. Each author profile gathers together biographical information, lists of principal works and biographies, a bibliography of works about the author, illustrations and portraits, facsimiles of MSS and revised typescripts, as well as letters and other documents. This online edition allows users to access the information though a range of sophisticated search options.

Orlando: Women’s Writing in the British Isles

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles 

Orlando provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Interacting with these materials creates a dynamic inquiry from any number of perspectives into centuries of women's writing.