Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Making your publications 'Open Access' is increasingly important, as it both improves the visibility of your work and helps ensure your eligibility for the next REF. In addition, many funding bodies require grant holders to make their publications open access. Find out more and deposit your work...
Act on Acceptance (Deposit into ORA)
Journal articles and conference papers (in publications with an ISSN) accepted for publication from 1 April 2016 onwards must be made available on an open access basis to be eligible for the next REF. Use our Act on Acceptance service
to fulfil these requirements by uploading your paper to the Oxford Research Archive (ORA)
, our institutional repository, within 3 months of acceptance
Open Access information and help
The Open Access Oxford website provides information, advice, tools and contacts to help you with REF and other funder policies. Includes the gold and green routes, tools to check funder and journal policies, Article Processing Charges (APCs) and how to pay them, and help depositing with "Act on Acceptance" in order to be eligible for the next REF.
Open Access help and contacts
Research Data Management: organising, protecting and preserving your data
Managing your research data effectively is important so that you can:
- create, collect and use data effectively
- ensure your data is safely backed up and preserved for the future
- make sure your data is available to others (which in some cases may be required by your funder)
Find out more...
Research Data Management
Information, advice, tools and contacts to help you with research data management including an explanation of how RDM may benefit your research and guidance on managing your data. You will also find an introduction to data management on the Bodleian Data Library web site
Depositing your data in ORA Data
Oxford Researchers may deposit their research data in ORA-Data, the University of Oxford's digital repository for research data. ORA Data will archive and preserve the data and where appropriate make it available for re-use by other researchers.
Research Data Management help and contacts
Identifying your publications with ORCID and measuring impact
Ensuring that all of your publications and other research outputs are associated with you correctly online is important not only because it helps other researchers find your work but also because it will affect your citation count (for example when calculating your h-index). Using an ORCID ID will ensure that all of your publications are associated with you and is also required by some funding bodies. Find out more about 'ORCID at Oxford" or measuring research impact...
ORCID at Oxford - Researcher Identifier System
An ORCID iD is a unique researcher identifier, used worldwide, that you keep throughout your life and retain even if you move institution. ORCID iD's are useful in ensuring that all your articles and other research outputs are credited to you and are therefore important in measuring impact. They are also required by some funders.
Measuring research impact
Guidance on measuring impact using citation counts and impact factors including finding highly cited journals; calculating your h-index and measuring the impact of departments and institutions.
Depositing your thesis in the Oxford Research Archive (ORA) (for research students)
Depositing your thesis in the Oxford Research Archive
Students following D.Phil., M.Litt. and M.Sc. (by research) programmes are required to deposit a hardcopy of their thesis in the Bodleian Libraries and a digital copy in the Oxford Research Archive (ORA). Follow the link above for guidance on how to prepare your thesis for upload to ORA.
Oxford Research Archive help and contacts
Workshops for researchers
The Bodleian Libraries run regular workshops on Open Access, Research Data Management and Measuring Research Impact. If the workshop you wish to attend has passed, please follow the link to register your interest in attending a future session or contact firstname.lastname@example.org to request a one-to-one or bespoke session for your department.
ORCID and Impact workshops
Research Data Management workshops
More workshops (including literature review, reference management, copyright and more).
Workshops and Classes
Bodleian libraries run a range of workshops in information discovery and scholarly communications covering literature searching, reference management, current awareness, research impact, copyright and intellectual property, open access and research data management.
Workshops help and contacts