Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copy of Discovering e-resources: Where can I find e-resources?

SOLO

E-resources we pay for and some free sources recommended by subject specialists are included in our search tool: SOLO.

SOLO is the official search tool for the Bodleian Libraries of the University of Oxford. It allows searching of around 13 million library items, 3 million Electronic Legal Deposit e-books and journal articles, the theses and articles stored in ORA, and research articles from journals subscribed to by the University. A specialist map search is also available.

Databases A-Z

If you want to consult a specific database you can search for it on SOLO.

If you are unsure which databases could be useful for you, take a look at online guidance provided by your subject librarian or use the databases A-Z which groups databases by subject and type of content.

If you want to find articles without specifying a particular database use SOLO.

Search tips

See the SOLO User Guide for basic information. To explore journals or databases by subject you can use the Databases A-Z or the E-Journals A-Z, or subject guides online. For deeper advice on where and how to search consult your librarian.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar provides a very similar service to SOLO's Articles search and much of the content is the same. The Bodleian Libraries subscribe to the Primo Central Index which is a curated service bringing together content from many publishers and databases. Google Scholar gathers its content from many of the same publishers in an automated way using search algorithms.. The Bodleian Libraries also supplement the index with additional local content (e.g. online articles received via legal deposit, items from the Oxford Research Archive) to create SOLO's Article search.

Google Scholar - search tips

If you are on a library computer or using the University's VPN you will notice that some results show a FindIt@Oxford link on the right where you also often see links to open access versions of the paper.

This is because the Bodleian Libraries have shared information about our subscriptions with Google in order to make your access easier. To ensure you see the FindIt@Oxford links wherever you are, sign in to Google and set up the University of Oxford in your Library Links within Settings.

E-Journals A-Z

A-Z list of e-journals can be filtered by subject if you would like to browse e-journals in your subject area.  

Please note, this lists the journals we subscribe to online, not in print. 

All journals are included in SOLO.

Google

We offer a workshop on searching Google for Academic Research. Check out the handouts for latest tips & advice.

DuckDuckGo