Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EMBL-EBI Data services
A directory of database services maintained by the European Molecular Biology Laboratory/European Bioinformatics Institute. Many forms of biological experimental data can be safely deposited and later retrieved from these databases.
NCBI Data services
A directory of database services provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (USA). Many forms of biological experimental data can be safely deposited and later retrieved from these databases.
The Registry of Research Data Repositories provides a listing of hundreds of available data repositories arranged by subject.
Zenodo provides limited free storage space for all research outputs from all fields of science. Shares the same research data storage infrastructure as CERN.
UK Data Archive
The UK Data Archive collects and curates data sets from researchers working in humanities, social sciences and economics.
UK Data Service
Provides facilities to deposit econometric/social sciences datasets and datasets generated through research grants from the ESRC (Economic and Social Research Council)
Data management tools
There are a number of tools which can help you with various data management tasks. You can find lists of useful tools provided by Oxford and external organisations at the following links.
List of Data Management Tools
Here you will find a list of useful tools for data management from both Oxford and external providers.
A suite of software tools designed to help manage research data for life sciences projects. The tools use the ISA-TAB file format to ensure interoperability with a range of tools and depositories.
A catalogue of data and metadata standards used in a wide range of biological databases, repositories and tools.
What is data management?
What is Research Data Management?
All research projects will generate data in one form or another. Good data management practices will help you organise, store and retrieve data for use during your project and after it is completed. Data Management is not only part of good academic practice, it is also an area you may be required to consider and document under the policy of your research funder. You can find out more about the principles behind data management on the Research Data Management website - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/home/introduction-to-rdm/
Working with data
There are a number of practical activities and considerations involved with day-to-day management of research data. You can find out more about the different aspects of working with data using the links below.
Storing your data in suitable formats and under suitable conditions helps ensure that it can be viewed and built upon by future generations of researchers. Find out more about preserving your research data here - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/preserving-your-data/
There are various legal and ethical issues you might need to think about before sharing your research data with others. Also, it's important to get credit for your data by having it cited correctly. You can find out more information about sharing data at the links below.
Tools, services and training
There are a variety of tools and services which can support you with different aspects of managing your research data from developing your data management plan to storing you data in an on-line repository. The University also offers a variety of training to help you manage your data effectively. You can find more information here - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/home/tools-services-and-training/
ORA-Data for Oxford research data
ORA-Data holds records about datasets created as part of research work at Oxford University. This makes is easier for people to locate information about and links to datasets. ORA-Data can also be used to deposit a dataset if there is no suitable subject, government or funder based repository available.
Background information about ORA-Data including details of when and how to deposit data using the service.
This LibGuide explains the purpose of ORA Data and how to go about creating records for datasets and depositing data.
As datasets become more widely shared and recognised as an important part of research output, there is more of a need to ensure that data can be reliably cited in publications. This ensures that -
- Datasets referred to in a publication can be identified easily and unambiguously
- Creators of data are properly acknowledged and credited for their work
A dataset can be cited in a similar way to how you would cite any other kind of source in a bibliography, although it may need to include extra details such as the version of a dataset you are referring to or what portion of data you are referencing from a larger dataset.
UK Data Service - Depositor Stories
In these case studies a number of researchers discussed the way they have managed the handling of complex data sets and how they have deposited them into a data archive.
Background Reading for Data Management
If you have any enquiries about data management at Oxford University, you can use the following address to E-mail the data management team -
Alternatively, you can contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.
Research Data Policies
The University of Oxford has a stated policy on research data which you should familiarise yourself with. Funders may also have their own policies on research data management. It is a good idea to check with your funder exactly what your responsibilities are in this regard.
List of Data Management Training Courses
Here you will find a list of all of the training sessions in research data management available at Oxford University and further afield.
Training resources (both face-to-face and on-line) offered by EMBL-EBI on submitting and extracting information from their biological databases.
Training resources offered by NCBI. These include instructions on submitting and retrieving data from NCBI's biological databases.
The MANTRA course offers interactive tutorials to help you to understand data management and develop practical skills in managing data.