Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are databases?
Oxford has many bibliographic databases available to members of the University. These can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, patents etc. Oxford members can access subscription databases via the Databases A-Z list.
Core Bioinformatics Organisations
Each of these organisations provides access to a wealth of bioinformatics databases, software and reference literature. They can all be accessed freely over the web and do not require a subscription.
The National Centre for Biotechnology Information is a central provider of bioinformatics resources and services in the US. Their extensive website provides guides and reference to all the services they support.
The European Molecular Biology Laboratory and European Bioinformatics Institute. These databases provide access to all the bioinformatics data held be EMBL/EBI.
The DNA Data Bank of Japan.Access to databases, software tools and documentation provided by the DDBJ.
Additional Bioinformatics Databases
The following databases represent some additional core on-line resources for bioinformatics. There are many more available. Try the Bioinformatics Web Directories linked to in the box below for resources specific to your needs.
Access to protein sequence and functional information. Includes data from Swiss-Prot and TrEMBL.
RCSB Protein Data Bank
Database providing extensive structural and functional information for proteins.
Popular resource for viewing, exploring and researching sequenced genomes.
ExPASy Bioinformatics Resource Portal
Access to a range of bioinformatics databases, software and resources from the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics.
National Bioinformatics Training
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The Sanger Institute in Cambridge provides many local and touring bioinformatics workshops throughout the year including their 'Open Door' series of workshops. Excellent training materials and manuals from previous courses can be download for free from the site mainly as .pdf files.
Web of Science
A subscription database with wide scientific coverage. Indexes a wide variety of journal articles and conference proceedings. Provides search alerting facility.
One of Oxford's subscription bibliographic databases. Coverage of journals across the physical, life and medical sciences. Incorporates journal articles, conference proceedings and patent records. Provides search alerting facility.
WorldWideScience.org allows you to carry out simultaneous searchers across a range of international scientific databases. These include literature databases, publication repositories and data archives. The service is maintained by the U.S. Government's Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI).
ArXiv.org - E-print and preprint servers
Open access repository of articles in mathematics, statistics, quantitative biology, computing and physics.
Bioinformatics Web Directories
The following directories provide hundreds of links to bioinformatics resources across the web.
Bioinformatics Links Directory
A curated searchable database of links to bioinformatics web resources. Resources are also arranged by theme and topic.
Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection (OBRC)
An extensive, searchable database of bioinformatics tools and resources available on the web. Also searches journal articles describing particular resources. Simultaneous search of the BioMed Central Databases collection.
Online Bioinformatics Tutorials
There are many bioinformatics tutorials available on the web. Below are some suggestions from reputable organisations.
These online bioinformatics tutorials demonstrate how to use tools and databases supplied by EMBL-EBI to carry out a range of bioinformatics tasks.
Free Open Helix Resources
Open Helix provides a small number of free tutorials covering topics such as searching the RCSB Protein Data Bank.
Henry Stewart Talks
The Henry Stewart Talks provide recorded presentations from experts in many areas of biology. This series of talks on 'Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity' provides practical examples of the applications of bioinformatics.