Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera and Women's Studies: Political History

A guide to finding the easiest ways to accessing ephemera of interest to Women's Studies in the John Johnson Collection

Women's Suffrage

(C) John Fraser Collection: GB3 (383)

In addition to the Women's Suffrage boxes in the John Johnson Collection, there are postcards in both JJColl and the John Fraser Coll of Propaganda Postcards

 

Political and Military History

Our Political prints are online both through the John Johnson Online Catalogue and (cross-searchable with other collections) through VADS (Visual Arts Data Service).  If you are interested in the period around the French Revolution, you will find a rich source of imagery in the Curzon Collection. The Curzon prints are online through Digital Bodleian

However, most of the political material is not digitised and you will need to rely on the Indexes.  Please contact the Librarian of the John Johnson Collection for advice and to order material.

(C) John Johnson Collection: Queen Caroline folder (3)

World War 1

There are postcards relating to the First World War in both the John Johnson Collection and John Fraser Collection. Material relating to the role of women is housed in box 20 of the Great War section of the John Johnson Collection  There are also WW1 posters.  John Johnson did not collect the ephemera of the Second World War

Women shell workers

Postcard showing women shell workers in Sheffield, 1916

(C) John Fraser Collection: GB 5a (524)

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website