Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera and Women's Studies: The catalogues

A guide to finding the easiest ways to accessing ephemera of interest to Women's Studies in the John Johnson Collection

Find women

Proof of yellow back cover for Darkest before Dawn

Yellow-back cover for Darkest Before Dawn

JJColl: Colour Printing 8 (59)

  • By name through our Names indexes. We use LC name authorities where possible, but it is always wise to browse rather than search and (in the ProQuest project) to use Select from a list
  • By subject/subject of illustration. We have indexed the iconography using LCTGM supplemented by Iconclass, where appropriate. Most subjects are plural
  • By keyword

The John Johnson Collection online catalogue

The John Johnson Collection online catalogue

The Johnson online catalogue (not searchable through SOLO) contains all the records for catalogued items except those in Bodleian Ballads and the Toyota project (now archived).  There are currently c.118,000 records in the Johnson online catalogue.

Johnson records appear in two forms:

  • Display record (default). This shows selected information only
  • Bibliographic record. This shows the whole record in tagged format.  To decode the tags, use the Johnson allegro format, which lets you into the secrets of our cataloguing system

ProQuest project: The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera

This is our most sophisticated project, with superb functionality, including full text searching with hit-highlighting.

 Points to note:

  • It covers just 5 major areas of the Collection: Advertising, 19th century Entertainment, Crime, Murders and Executions, Popular Prints, and Booktrade
  • It is accessible free of charge in the UK (only) and by institutional subscription outside the UK
  • Within the UK you can access it from anywhere: http://johnjohnson.chadwyck.co.uk/geoLocSubscription.do
  • The catalogue records are also on our own online catalogue, but without the images

ProQuest project home page

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website