Skip to main content

Korean law: Legal system

Subjects: Korea, Law

Korean political structure

The Head of State is The President, elected for a five year term.

The President appoints the Prime Minister - an appointment which then requires the approval of the National Assembly.

The Prime Minister recommends potential cabinet members to the President; their appointment requires the latter's approval.

The Cabinet is then presided over by the President.

Legislative Branch is the one chamber National Assembly.

In 2000 the Ministry of Culture and Tourism devised the Revised Romanization system, which is the official way to transliterate Korean. (For more information consult document below.)

Korean legal system

Chapter 5 of the Constitution lays down major aspects of the court system such as in ensuring judicial independence:
Constitution, Articles 103 "Judges shall rule independently according to their conscience and in conformity with the Constitution and statute" & 106 (1)  No judge shall be removed from office except by impeachment or a sentence of imprisonment without prison labor or heavier punishment, nor shall he be suspended from office, have his salary reduced or suffer any other unfavorable treatment except by disciplinary action.
(Chapter 6 deals specifically with the Constitutional Court)


  General law courts Specialist courts IP cases
Constitutional Court      
  Supreme Court Supreme Court Supreme Court
  High Courts High Court Patent Court
  District Courts Family Court, Administrative Court  KIPO Tribunal, IPTAB*

                                                                       *Intellectual Property Trial and Appeal Board (IPTAB)