Skip to main content

Internet Studies: Media, Information and Communication Data

UK Data Service

ICT iconInformation and communication

Information and communication technologies are transforming the way in which we communicate, govern, work, manage crises, do business and spend our free time. These changes are, in turn, driving new policy development to address the societal impacts of digital technologies. The UK Data Service holds data on a wide range of ICT topics, such as mobile communication, telework, social-media, radio, television, internet use, mass media, infrastructure, security and trust. This key research area helps us to understand how the fast evolving world of digital technologies impacts people's lives and communities, changes the way we interact, affects our cultural experiences and could shape our future society and economy.

Go to Discover to search and browse data collections, series, case studies, and ESRC outputs on Media, communication and language.

Web Archives

UK Government Web Archive

Preserves digital government information by regularly archiving UK central government websites.

The British Library

The Library has three main collections of archived websites:

Open UK Web Archive has been collecting websites by permission since 2004 and is the smallest of the three collections. Its selective nature means that the sites are of high quality, and the archival copies have been manually quality-checked and carefully annotated. This curated collection covers aspects of UK life and culture, as well as specific events such as general elections, the 2012 Olympic Games, and the commemoration of the centenary of the First World War. Selected websites are continuously added and anyone can nominate a UK website for inclusion.

JISC UK Web Domain Dataset (1996-2013) contains all of the resources from the Internet Archive that were hosted on domains ending in ‘.uk’, or that are required in order to render those UK pages.

Non-Print Legal Deposit UK Web Archive includes millions of websites obtained through our annual archiving of the entire UK domain. This was enabled by the non-print legal deposit regulations introduced by the government in April 2013.

The Library of Congress Web Archives (LCWA)

Collections of archived web sites selected by subject specialists to represent web-based information on a designated topic.

The Media Archive for Central England (MACE)

The screen archive for the Midlands in the UK. MACE presents the culture and history of the Midlands as reflected in film, videotape and digital moving images from 1896 (the birth of film) to the present day.

UK Web Archive (UKWA)

A partnership of the six UK Legal Deposit Libraries, UKWA collects millions of websites each year, preserving them for future generations. 
The site allows to discover old or obsolete versions of UK websites, search the text of the websites and browse websites curated on different topics and themes.

WayBackMachine

Browse through over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago.

PEW Internet, Science & Tech

Internet, Science & Tech

The Pew Research Center's Internet Project offers access to raw data sets from their research which are made available as single compressed archive files (.zip file).
All uses of this data should reference the Pew Research Center as the source of the data and acknowledge that the Pew Research bears no responsibility for interpretations presented or conclusions reached based on analysis of the data.
Pew Research is interested in learning about other ways that scholars use our data. If you publish something based on our data, please let us know by sending us an email. Individuals will need to fill out a brief registration before downloading data. Questions concerning the data sets may be directed to the Pew Research Center.
Loading ...

European Audiovisual Observatory

European Audiovisual Observatory Yearbook (2014-2016) Extra username/password are required for this resource: see Weblearn for details

The Yearbook provides a wide range of statistical data on the four main industry branches of the audiovisual sector in Europe: the film industry; television; video/DVD; on-demand audiovisual services. Detailed tables and figures; country profiles; key trends reports are delivered progressively as it becomes available.

WPT database

World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers

World Press Trends (WPT) Database is a dynamic continuously updated database includes the summary tables, also allowing users to produce their own, customized reports, which can be exported to PDF or to Excel format.
WPT Report and Database (2009 ed.) is available in PDF format via Weblearn.

W3C

The World Wide Web Consortium

An international community developing open standards to ensure the long-term growth of the Web.