Skip to main content

Internet Studies: Newspapers & News services

See below a selection of newspapers available to Bodleian readers; to find out more browse Databases A-Z: Newspapers.

Current newspapers & other news sources

Balkan Insight

The leading news site covering the Western Balkans Region. Correspondents are drawn from across the former Yugoslavia and Albania, Bulgaria and Romania and the site is widely regarded as the only source of balanced reporting providing copy in English to international journalistic standards.
Balkan Insight's Premium Content, available to all University of Oxford users, offers more detailed analytical content, including investigations, comment and analysis from the countries of the region.

The Economist

The subscription is listed on SOLO. Go to View Online to access full text.

Financial times online

The subscription includes access to subscriber-rated content and a Power Search facility that gives access to 8 years of the FT, along with 22 million articles from 500 of the world's leading business press publications.
NOTE: To access the service please ensure that you register with a username (the username will require a University email address ending in .ox.ac.uk) and a password of your choice.
To register off-campus please use the URL on the Weblearn page.

Harvard Business Review

Search for the journal title in search box inside the EBSCOhost website to access its contents (available from 1922).

Wall Street Journal (1984- )

Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available on the web through ProQuest, an information access and retrieval system.

News services

Factiva

A powerful up to the minute database providing in-depth news coverage and business intelligence. The majority of sources it offers are available in full text. Coverage goes back to the mid 1990s and includes publications from 159 countries in 22 languages, 1,000 global and local newspapers, 6,500 magazines, 270+ newspapers from the UK, 160 media programs and 10,000 web sites.

Nexis UK

Online news and business research service brings together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the world.

Collections & databases

China Core Newspapers Database

Collection of academic and informative documents from core newspapers in China since 2000; updated continuously.

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

Governmental Publications (Russia)

The database monitors events in the Duma and the Federation Council. Includes stenographic records, vote results, resolutions and legislative drafts, schedules and agendas.Use the site to monitor the constantly evolving events in parliament, including stenographic records of Duma hearings, draft laws, vote results, official resolutions and decrees.

Russian central newspapers

Comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia from official sources.

ukpressonline

The web archive of British newspapers: Daily Mirror, Daily Express, Daily Star, Sunday Express, Star Sunday etc.

World Press Trends Database

Primary source of data on the newspaper industry worldwide. It includes data from more than 70 countries, accounting for more than 90 per cent of the global industry's value. The data is available as individual country reports, and aggregated to reveal trends on circulation and readership. Users can generate custom reports, which can be downloaded as Excel files.

ProQuest collections

A year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758, providing information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years.
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
An international abstracting and indexing tool designed for information specialists covering over 300 periodicals from around the world, providing comprehensive bibliographic coverage of the scholarly literature related to library science. Subject coverage includes information technology, management & retrieval, and Internet technology.

The collection combines Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA), the leading index for library science, with full-text for many titles.

News aggregators