Skip to main content

Internet Studies: E-Books & Reference

Online listings

TRILT: Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching

From the British Universities Film & Video Council, TRILT is a comprehensive online listings service for UK television and radio including terrestrial, cable and satellite television (with regional variations), all national and many local radio stations, Asian-language, Irish, Scottish Gaelic and Welsh channels and programmes.
The database carries complete schedules for more than 475 UK channels with data from 1995 onwards. Data is available at least ten days before transmission and builds up as an archive of programme information and schedules.

TVTiP

The TVTimes Project 1955-1985 provides unique online access to the listings of the London Edition of the TVTimes, previously only accessible to researchers in rare printed sets of the TVTimes. It allows for searching for programmes, production staff and performers.

Terms of Access
TVTiP is only available to bona fide students, researchers and teachers in further and higher education in the United Kingdom and to BUFVC members. Outside Oxford sign in using your Oxford University Single Sign On account.

WWW Virtual Library

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

Compiled by Prof W. A. Selcher this is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.

eBook collections

e-Books can be accessed via SOLO, or directly through publisher collections

Oxford University Press offers -

Oxford Handbooks

The Political Science collection contains essays with extensive referencing to further reading, offering both introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

OREs offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. They cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in major areas of research.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Offers access to academic works from the scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

Elsevier provides a platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature -

ScienceDirect

In addition to currrent subscriptions ScienceDirect offers over 250,000 articles on open access, i.e.peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read and download. Permitted reuse is defined by the authors’ choice of user license.
View the open access journal directory and publications with open access articles.

Taylor & Francis Group has a content platform -

Taylor & Francis eBooks

A librarian-selected package includes ebooks.
Log-in using your Single single-on and when browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.
Some titles are available free via open access .

Or via e-libraries:

East View E-Books

Free access to 167 Russian e-books (fiction and non-fiction) covering humanities and social sciences.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

A collection of e-books purchased by Oxford librarians currently contains over 2000 purchased and over 3000 free e-books. Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book license. See details on accessing the ebooks on this platform.

OECD iLibrary

Provides comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals and working papers.

ProQuest Ebook Central aka EBL (eBook library) and ebrary

Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including UPs and other top publishers.

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection‎

Provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.