Skip to main content

Social Sciences Libraries Group: Useful tools

Data preservation in ORA

The Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) serves as an institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly research output of its members. ORA also is the home of Oxford digital theses.

ORA is a permanent and secure archive of the University which preserves an array of research publications, journal articles, conference papers, working papers, theses, reports, book sections and more. Unpublished academic work is also deposited into ORA. The full-text and abstracts of many of these items are freely available.

Depositing in ORA guide provides information on how to contribute your work to the archive.

iSkills

Information skills training

The SSL supports the development of transferable research skills by providing a wide range of inter-disciplinary and subject-specific information skills programmes.

Research and Skills Training for Social Sciences Graduate Students - together with the Oxford ESRC Doctoral Training Centre to provides a wide range of workshops within the Social Sciences Division’s research skills and training programme.

iSkills logoBodleian iSkills - a more general programme of workshops open to all members of the University and Bodleian Library Readers. Topics include: searching for a wide range of scholarly materials, keeping up to date with new research, reference management and bibliometrics.

Research Skills Toolkit is a free hands-on workshop for research students and research staff, run jointly by IT Services and the Bodleian Libraries.
It provides the opportunity to try out 10 different tools and techniques including Managing references, Using citations to create research connections, Styling and structuring academic documents, and Advanced literature searching.

IT training

IT Services logo IT learning centre (ITLC) offers a whole range of IT courses,  runs workshops, puts on themed lunch-time talks, publishes our teaching resources on-line for all to access and use, and more.

Visit ITLC website to:

Managing your references

Reference management software,

also known as citation management software, allows you to:
♦  collect references,
♦  store references in a web account or on your desktop,
♦  organise references,
♦  add notes to your references,
♦  link to full text, web pages and documents,
♦  cite your references and create bibliographies.