Skip to main content

Printed images in Bodleian collections: Rawlinson

A guide describing some of the notable collections of picture prints and illustrations in Bodleian Library collections, with information about catalogue resources.

About the Collection

Richard Rawlinson (1690-1755) bequeathed to the University a large collection of manuscripts and books as well as albums of prints and portraits reflecting his antiquarian interests. The collection also includes a large number of copper plates from which prints and book illustrations were made.

Access Information

The Rawlinson Manuscripts, including prints which were kept within manuscript volumes, are described in the Summary Catalogue of Western Manuscripts, vol. 3, numbers 10884-16087

The Quarto Catalogue of Rawlinson Manuscripts (searchable file of fasc. 1, MSS. Rawl. A and B) lists engravings of portraits, coats of arms and views, by Hollar and others. 

Under the shelfmark 'Rawl. Prints' are kept albums including mezzotints and engravings, briefly described in entries in the online catalogue, SOLO.

Information about the Rawlinson copper plates is collected in the guide The Rawlinson copperplates, by Rachel Marks and Susan Berg (Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 1988)

Woodcut illustrations in 17th-century ballads from the Rawlinson collection are indexed and searchable via the Bodleian Ballads Online 'ImageMatch' page.

Please direct any enquires on accessing the collection to rare.books@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or ask a member of the Library's reading room staff who will be able to assist you further.

Rawlinson Image