It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steve Hedley's blog on Private Law Theory. It is mainly an updater and point of contact for those working in the area.
Private Law Theory is an emerging discipline in law schools and elsewhere. Private law itself is a core set of disciplines within law, and can roughly be divided between Property Law (land, personal property, intellectual property …) and the Law of Obligations (Contract, Tort, Restitution …). Each different jurisdiction has its own version of these disciplines. Private Law Theory looks for theoretical perspectives to describe, explain and unify these areas. In doing so, theorists typically draw on a number of the surrounding disciplines, such as Comparative Law, Jurisprudence, Philosophy, Economics, History and Sociology.
Restitution Law Review
This journal is NOT (as of 2019) available online.
Our print copies are shelved at General 300 R45. Issues from & including 2000 are on Level 1; earlier years are on Level 0.
Members of OU have access to many law journals via the various electronic databases to which the LawBod subscribes.
This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
Alternative names: LNB ; Lexis Nexis Butterworths Lexis Library
Lexis Nexis Butterworths (LNB) includes primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.
It has particularly good collections of UK cases and in particular includes The Law Reports and The All England Law Reports, as well as many specialist series of reports. It is also a good source of UK legislation as it includes all UK Acts and Statutory Instruments as they currently stand.
LNB is also an excellent source of US primary legal materials and includes a huge amount of legal commentary from the UK and the US.
Lexis content formerly provided via the Lexis Nexis Professional interface is now available via LNB which replaces Professional.
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Expert indexing that cites articles from the most important legal periodicals and law books.
Relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, Index to Legal Periodicals offers expert indexing of the most important journals and books. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.
Administrative Law, Antitrust Legislation, Banking, Constitutional Law, Domestic Relations, Environmental Protection, Estate Planning, Food, Drug & Cosmetic Law, International Law, Labour Law, Landlord/Tenant Decisions, Malpractice Suits, Minorities, Multinational Corporations, Negligence, Non-Profit Corporations, Occupational Health & Safety, Politics, Probate, Products Liability, Public Law, Real Property, Securities, Tax Law, Trade Regulation.
This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (produced by The American Association of Law Libraries) provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law from 1985 onwards. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Therefore whilst publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included.
The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.
Alternative names: Web of Science ; SSCI. SSCI is the machine readable version of the printed Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1,400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences. Selected items from over 3,100 physical and natural sciences journals are also included to provide multidisciplinary coverage. This amounts to approximately 130,000 articles per year.
The data, which is updated weekly, consists of articles for the current year, with other year's data going back to 1970. The data for each index defaults to the current year plus the three previous years (this can be reset), with searches covering one index at a time. Many of the more recent articles contain abstracts, as well as author, title and journal information with lists of citations.
LawCite is being built as part of a three year project that is funded by the Australian Research Council in co-operation with a number of Australian courts and other commercial and non-commercial organisations. It is being developed at AustLII in collaboration with other members of the Free Access to Law Movement - in particular BAILII , HKLII , PacLII , SAFLII , NZLII and CYLAW. Particularly strong for common law countries, but the civil law dimension is growing
Free resource. OU members can click on the Settings link (near top right), then on the next page, Library Links in the left hand column, type Oxford in the search box and then click in box alongside "University of Oxford Find it @ Oxford" and finally click Save this setting. This will help you get online access to material in some (but not all) legal databases for which the Law Bod has a subscription when on the OU network/working via VPN. For example, it works for accessing journals held on HeinOnline.
Free resource. Enter an unknown abbreviation to a law report or law journal from your reading list to find out the full title of the report series or journal. Alternatively, search by title of a report series or law journal to find the abbreviation to use in footnotes.
This web-based service allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. The Index is still under development.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout