Skip to main content

Long Eighteenth Century in the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera: Finding images

A guide to accessing ephemera and prints from the Long Eighteenth Century in the John Johnson Collection, with a particular focus on historians and students of English Literature

Print Shop

(C) Trade in Prints and Scraps 8 (74)

Iconographic indexing

We  index the images too.  We use: Library of Congress Thesaurus for Graphic Materials and Iconclass.

In The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest) always use 'select from a list' to check that your search term is the best one.

Finding images

To find out which sections of the John Johnson Collection have been catalogued and digitised, you should refer to the online table: Digitised sections of the Collection and our Introduction to Finding Images.

We currently have c. 100,000 records online, with 183,000 images.

All images are on our own website except: Ballads, the Toyota Project (transport, including a few images of carriages and coaches) and ProQuest's The John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (which I will shorten to ProQuest). This is our largest project. (65,000 items, with over 170,000 images) It covers:

  • Popular Prints
  • Advertising
  • 19th century Entertainment
  • Crime, Murders and Executions
  • Booktrade

The ProQuest project, can be cross-searched with other collections through Connected Histories.  Please note that to use the ProQuest project, you must be connected to a FE or HE institution or participating public library or school.

There are two further projects of particular relevance to the Long Eighteenth Century:

Political Cartoons and Trades and Professions Prints can be browsed and searched in the Visual Arts Data Service (VADS). To browse the images, click on Images next to the project title.   VADS, in turn, can be cross-searched through Culture Grid.

18th century Entertainment, Board Games and Writing Blanks are online through the Oxford Digital Library. You will also find here: Political Prints from the Curzon Collection.

Subject Guide

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website