Skip to main content

Witchcraft & the law in early modern Europe & USA: Sources & commentary

National historical bibliographies

Austria

Österreichische historische Bibliographie = Austrian historical bibliography. 1967-.

France
Répertoire bibliographique de l'histoire de France. 1920-31. [URR K.7.228]
Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France. 1953-. [URR K.7.236]

Germany
Jahresberichte der Geschichtswissenschaft, 1880-1916 [BOD Offsite Per. 2231 d.288]
Jahresberichte der deutschen Geschichte, 1918-1924 [BOD Offsite Per. 240 e.646]
Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte. (Leipzig, 1927-). [URR K.7.278]
1974- available online

Historische Bibliographie. 1986-. [BOD Offsite]
1990- available online.

Italy
Bibliografia Storica Nazionale. 1939-99. [URR K.7.480]
2000- available online.

Netherlands
De Digitale Bibliografie Nederlandse Geschiedenis.

Spain
Indice histórico español. 1953-. [URR K.7.578]

Switzerland
Bibliographie der Schweizergeschichte. (Bern, 1913-). [BOD Offsite. Search SOLO]
1999- available online through Biblio.

Finding resources in Oxford

The Oxford University union catalogue, SOLO, will help you discover material regardless of where it is physically held -  make sure you use the Find & Request tab to double check which Bodleian Library Reading Room holds the item(s) you want to read. 
To start a subject search in SOLO, try the following:

Trials (Witchcraft) history 
Trials (Witchcraft) Europe history 

Witchcraft -- Europe -- History 
Witchcraft -- Social aspects -- Europe 
Witchcraft -- Political aspects -- England

Warlocks -- Europe -- History 
Werewolves -- Europe -- History 
Witches -- Europe --- History 

Demonology -- Social aspects -- Europe 
Demonology -- Europe -- History 

To change or restrict focus try changing or adding the name of an individual country eg substitute England for Europe in the above examples

If you are interested in the legal context: 
Criminal law - [name of country] - history 
Criminal procedure - [name of country] -- history 
Evidence (Law) -- [name of country] -- History 
Criminal Justice, Administration of -- [name of country] -- History

Further paths which might be fruitful:

Moral panics
Deviant behavior -- History 
Conformity -- History 
Social control -- History 
Persecution -- History

Further tools for literature searches

Sources available online

Databases offering full text digitised copies of early works

Guide to Medieval History Resources

Created by colleagues in the Bodleian History Faculty Library.