How can I find out what the Bodleian Law Library has in its collection?
You can search our catalogue online via SOLO
wherever you have access to the internet. SOLO will find books, journals, series of legislation & law reports, and databases. It will not help you find chapters within books, articles within journals, individual acts or individual case reports. An online guide to searching SOLO successfully is available here.
I have searched SOLO, how can I tell if the item is held in the Bodleian Law Library?
Click on the Find & request tab, and look for Law Library under the heading Location. If "multiple versions" of the work have been found, you will have to click View all versions, then click the Find & Request tab for the edition you need to read.
The book I need is in the Law Library, how can I tell where it will be shelved?
On the SOLO results screen, click on the Location called Law Library to see the exact shelf mark. When you are in the Law Library, please ask a member of Staff for directions.
The book I need is in the Reserve Collection, what does this mean?
The Library keeps a collection of the most heavily used text books in the Reserve Collection, behind the Enquiry Desk on Floor 2. These books are for use within the Library only (as is the rest of the collection), but are "wanded" in and out to readers. If you need a book that is in the Reserve Collection, just go to the Enquiry desk with your University Card/Reader's Card and ask the member of staff there for the book.
The Call Number of the title I need ends “sec coll,” can I still read it?
Yes. "Sec coll" books are held on the Ground Floor on open access shelves. Any member of staff will be happy to direct you to the correct area. Typically, "sec coll" books are older or superseded editions.
The Call Number of the title I need says it is “locked,” can I still read it?
In most cases, yes - and within 10 to 15 minutes of your asking for it at the Enquiry Desk. However, as a lot of the material in the locked cases is old or fragile you may be asked to use a digital alternative, or sit at a designated desk use foam supports etc. Please ask a member of staff for further advice - or contact firstname.lastname@example.org in advance of your visit.
The Call Number of the title I need is “Law Retro Staff,” can I still read it?
In most cases, yes - but please ask a member of staff for assistance, or contact email@example.com in advance of your visit.
The book I need has a due date, has it been borrowed? I need to read it now, what can I do?
The Bodleian Law Library does not lend books to readers, so, unless the item has been sent out of the library (for binding, conservation or as an Inter Library Loan) a member of staff should be able to help you find it when next you visit. Or you can contact firstname.lastname@example.org in advance of your visit.
The Bodleian Law Library doesn't have a book/journal/database that is needed for my course/research, what can I do?
I would like to read an unpublished Oxford law thesis, is this possible?
The Bodleian Law Library has Oxford law theses for the degree DPhil, but only some of those submitted as part of BCL, MJur or MStud. degrees. They are all catalogued on SOLO. Once you have identified the Call Number of the thesis you would like to read, please ask a member of staff to fetch it for you.. Since 2007, Oxford DPhil have been "born digital" and some older ones digitized. These are discoverable by SOLO but held in ORA the Oxford University Research Archive.
Is it possible to look at examination papers used for previous Law Mods/Finals/BCL?
Yes. If you have an Oxford Single Sign On username and password, you can consult old OU exam papers online on OXAM
via the Oxford Account link. Paper copies of exam papers from the last few years are also available at KL130.2.OXF. or Cw UK 675 O98c (sec coll)
Is it possible to read Examiners' reports on previous Oxford law examinations?
Yes. The reports from the last few years are on open shelf on Level 2 KL130.2.OXF. For older ones try Cw UK 675 O98i (sec coll) on the ground floor.