I am a current OU law student/member of OU Law Faculty, what legal databases can I use?
There is an alphabetical list of all the law databases
to which the Bodleian Law Library has a subscription, together with some of the most important/useful free access websites for law. Alternatively, if you know the name of the legal database, you can type the name into SOLO to see if OU has a subscription to it.
Do I need a password to use legal databases?
Sometimes! Westlaw UK and LexisLibrary will require your Oxford Single Sign On username and password both on and off the OU network. Others such as HeinOnline will not require a password if you are on the OU network/have a VPN. Some smaller specialist databases require a special username and password even when you are on the OU network/have a VPN. On our an alphabetical list of law databases
these databases are labelled [P.Word]. Clicking on [P.Word]
takes you to a Weblearn site. Click on Oxford Account and log in with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password, and scan down the alphabetical list till you find the details of the database you would like to use.
I am a current OU law student/member of Oxford Law Faculty, can I access subscription databases off campus/outside the OU network?
Yes! For the majority of cases all that is required is that you log on to SOLO with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password. For more details please visit our webpage.
Detailed guidance on on how to sign on to SOLO
is available online - and you are always welcome to ask a member of staff to show you when you are next in the Library.
I have forgotten my Oxford Single Sign On username and password, what can I do?
I would like some help with using legal databases, whom can I ask?
I am an Oxford law graduate, is it possible for me to have an Oxford Single Sign On/continued access to legal databases such as Westlaw UK and LexisLibrary?
Unfortunately, due to licensing restrictions, this is not possible. However, you are entitled to a Bodleian Readers' Card (free of charge) so that you can continue to use our printed resources
I am a visitor/I don't have an Oxford Single Sign On username and password, can I access legal databases while I'm in the Law Library?
Unfortunately, due to strict licensing restrictions in the UK, this is not possible for the major English law databases (such as Westlaw UK and LexisLibrary) unless you have your own personal account, or a username and password from your home institution.
I am doing interdisciplinary research, how can I see what databases are available for non legal topics?
The Databases A-Z platform
allows you to filter all the databases to which OU subscribes (as well as some which are OA) by subject.