Skip to main content

Guide for weekly class students: Electronic resources

A guide to library services and resources for weekly class students

Finding and accessing e-books on SOLO

The results of search on SOLO may include e-books. The title will include [electronic resource] and 'View Online' will be displayed instead of Locations. Click the 'View Online' to access the item.

If you have entered a search on SOLO, you can choose to see only online items by clicking  'Online Resources' at the top of the results screen if displayed.

To search specifically for e-books:

  • Enter your search terms in the SOLO search box
  • Select 'Books' from the 'All items' dropdown box
  • Select 'Online Resources' fom the 'All libraries/Collections' drop down box

E-book collections

Many e-books are part of collections. By going to the collection, you can search across all books, or sometimes a subject sub set. You can access collections via SOLO or OxLIP+. Individual titles from the collections will be catalogued on SOLO. Some of the main collections are listed here:

Finding and accessing electronic reference works

Reference works can give you a useful introduction to a topic. Many key reference works exist in electronic as well as print format. Using the electronic version can make searching easier, and may link to additional information on other websites. Some useful works include:

Why use electronic resources?

As well as the print collections in the Rewley House Continuing Education Library, you have access to the vast electronic collections subscribed to by the University of Oxford. Electronic resources include:

  • e-books
  • electronic journals
  • electronic reference works
  • subject-specific resources

You can access electronic resources on computers in the Library or in the Student Resource room at Ewert House. You cannot use them at home - see Finding Information on the internet for tips on finding good quality, free resources on the internet.

Finding and accessing electronic journal articles

Your tutor may give you references to journal articles. Print and electronic journals are catalogued on SOLO.

To find an article, enter the title of the journal in the SOLO search box. If the journal is available electronically, you will see [electronic resource] in the title and a link to View Online. Click on this link. There may be several links to the same title, as shown on the screen below. Check the date of your article, and choose a link that includes the date you need.

You can save or print one article from an issue of a journal. 

Finding electronic resources

OxLIP+ is the gateway to all electronic resources subscribed to by Oxford University. You can use it to explore what is available by subject. There is a link to OxLIP+ at the top of the SOLO screen.

OxLIP+ screen

 Click on the Subject tab to look for resources in your subject area.

To find out more about library resources for your subject, see Researching your subject