Skip to main content

Architecture for Continuing Education: Continuing Education Collections

Journals

The Library has the following titles in print format which regularly include articles relevant to Architecture:

  • Architectural History (Architecture) 1966-
  • Conservation Bulletin (Architecture) 1987-
  • Journal of Architectural Conservation (Architecture) 1995-

 Journals are all for use in the Library only. Current issues are displayed on the periodical stand in the Reading Room while back issues may be found downstairs in the subject area indicated above. Many e-journals are also available . For more information, select the Finding Articles page

Books

 Books of interest to Architecture students are shelved in the Lower and Upper Library under the following classification numbers (Dewey Decimal Classification):

710 Town and Country Planning
712 Landscape Architecture
720 Architecture
721 Architectural structure
722-724 General history of Architecture
725 Public buildings
726 Churches, cathedrals etc
727 School, college, university buildings
728 Residential buildings (including British country houses)

Oversize books are located in the Lower Library (001 – 939) and in the Reading Room (940 – 999) and pamphlets can be found in the Lower Library (001-999).

Books on general periods and trends in art can be found at 700-710.

Books are catalogued on SOLO, Oxford Univerity's library catalogue. This is freely available from any internet connection, and you do not need to sign in to search the catalogue.

Reference Books

The following reference books are shelved in the Reading Room, as well as other bibliographies, dictionaries and encyclopaedias:

Building conservation directory 1998 720.288 BUI
A biographical dictionary of British architects, 1600-1840 (Howard Colvin) 720.941 COL
Oxford Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture 720.3 CUR 
Listed Buildings, Conservation Areas and Monuments 720.288 MYN 
Penguin Dictionary of Architecture 720.3 FLE
Country Houses of England (Blue Guide) 728.80941 TYA 
English medieval architects: a biographical dictionary down to 1550  942 HAR
Concise glossary of architectural terms  720.9 PAR
Bibliography of vernacular architecture  016.7286 HAL/PIT
Encyclopaedia of architecture  720.3 YAR

 The library also holds a complete set of Pevsner's Buildings of England for loan (720.942) including multiple copies of the volumes on Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and Oxfordshire which are housed in the Local Collection.

Dissertations and theses

Dissertations, portfolios and theses written by Continuing Education students ONLY are available for consultation in the Library. Recent years are shelved under the stairs in the Lower Library, ask staff for older titles.  Not all subjects are represented but a list of titles held is available in the Library for consultation.    

For more information on searching for theses in general, please select the Finding Theses tab