Skip to main content

Plant Sciences: Forestry Collections

Subjects: Biology, Plant Sciences

History of Forestry at Oxford

A brief overview of the forestry library collections can be found in the history of forestry at Oxford, 1905-2005 - a set of five posters prepared by Roger Mills, Oxford Forest Information Manager 1981-2010, for the conference 'Frontiers in Forest Information : a centenary conference' held at St Anne's College Oxford, in December 2005.

A more detailed history of forestry at the University can be found in the following paper -

Burley, J. et al. (2009) Witness to History: A History of Forestry at Oxford University. British Scholar, v.1(2), pp. 236-61

Resources for Forestry

OFIS works in close collaboration with the CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International), based in Wallingford. CABI abstracts material in many disciplines, including forestry.

The forestry collection is a mixture of material comprising books, periodicals and grey literature. The total collection is about 200,000 items. Most of the material is donated either by CABI or from forestry organizations from all over the world. Literature is collected in a wide variety of languages and all abstracted material is kept permanently.

The forestry collection is stored off-site and items need to ordered to the Radcliffe Science Library for consultation.

Not all titles are catalogued on OLIS, Oxford's online computer catalogue, but with the aid of handlists and online databases material can be located.

For more detailed information on our extensive forestry collections, please view our dedicated Forestry LibGuide.

Other Useful Guides