Skip to main content

Plant Sciences: Journals

Subjects: Biology, Plant Sciences

Search SOLO

Finding e-journals

E-journals

Many of our journals are available electronically. You can look for a journal title using SOLO or OU e-Journals.

If you are searching for a particular article or wish to find articles focused on a specific topic, you will need to use a bibliographic database. See the 'Databases' tab in this guide for more information.

Tip: When using OU e-Journals to find a journal, for a one-word title (e.g. 'Science') change the default search from Contains to Starts with or Exact.

Printed journals 

If an electronic version of a journal is not available, we may have it in print copy. Check SOLO for any printed copies in the library (usually older volumes).

Journal articles

Our library catalogue SOLO does not generally index individual articles, only journal titles. To search for journal articles you will will need to use a bibliographic database. These databases index the contents of thousands of journals and can be searched by author, title, topic, date etc.

Pre-prints and author manuscripts

Many academic institutions now collect peer-reviewed author manuscripts and pre-prints from their academics into digital repositories. This can provide easy open access to high quality scientific publications. You can find repositories and search their contents using the OpenDOAR directory and CORE.

Finding Printed Journals

If you want to restrict your SOLO search to journals only, you can do so by selecting the 'Advanced search' option from the SOLO homepage and then limiting the 'Resource Type' option to journals.

 

Electronic Legal Deposit Material

We receive some material via Electronic Legal Deposit. Access to this material is restricted to Bodleian Libraries reading rooms. This material is clearly identified on the SOLO catalogue as shown in the image below. To find out more, please see our LibGuide covering Electronic Legal Deposit material - https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/eld-explained/inbrief

Remote Access

If you are a full current member of the University of Oxford, you can access most library electronic resources off-campus.

Use your Single Sign On (SSO)

Go to SOLO and click on Oxford Single Sign On (top right). For most of our e-books and e-journals this is all you need.

If you do not know your SSO details please visit the SSO section of the IT Services website .

VPN (Virtual Private Network)

Only necessary for a few library resources. With VPN you can access the University network as if you were on campus. Register with IT Services.

Other Useful Guides