Skip to Main Content

LAC Library and Research Skills Induction: Research Skills Induction

LAC Librarians

If you would like more information about the topics covered in this guide, please contact one of the LAC librarians:

Librarian and Subject Consultant
Frank Egerton (Wed, 9am-5 pm)
+44 (0)1865 274483 (LAC)
+44 (0)1865 278155 (Taylor)
+44 (0)7967 246482 (mobile)

Senior Library Assistant (Mon, Tue 9am-5pm)
Rebeca Otazua
+44 (0)1865 274483

Library Assistant (Thu, Fri 9am-5pm)
Sam Truman
+44 (0)1865 274483

Supporting disabled readers

The Bodleian Libraries offer a range of services for disabled readers and readers with Specific Learning Difficulties, such a s dyslexia. For more information, follow link below:

WiFi, copying, printing

Wi-Fi is available: see link below or ask a member of staff for help.

We have a self-service photocopier in the Stack, which is part of the Bodleian Libraries' Print, Copy and Scan (PCAS) network.

Readers can print from workstations in the Stack and the Main Library.

For more information about PCAS see the links below or ask at the Library Office.

Copyright regulations must be observed.

iSkills

There is also a very wide-ranging and informative series of information skills sessions run by the Libraries each term, which you can find out about by visiting the Bodleian iSkills LibGuide. Link below:

LibGuides for in-depth information

For further in-depth information about the following selected topics, follow the links below:

Graduate Induction

This guide is for graduates studying for the MPhil in Latin American Studies, Year 1, and the MSc in Latin American Studies, and for other graduate and post-graduate users of the Library, including Recognised Students.

The PDFs and links contained in the guide introduce you to the library tools you will need for your research and to the essential e-resources that are available to you in the subject area in Oxford. (NOTE For information about reference management software, see the box below left, 'LibGuides for in-depth information'.)

New members of the library are advised to go through the PDFs and links below first. Once you have explored these, please see the right-hand column for information about PRISMA, HAPI and FBIS and below for details of the Scan and Deliver service. Do also explore the various links boxes in the guide.

Also, check out the resources in the UPDATES box below.

The Latin American Centre Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries and the Bodleian Rules of Conduct for Readers apply across its reading rooms.

Our thanks to Bodleian Libraries colleagues - especially to Nick Hearn, Clare Hills-Nova and Joanne Ferrari, our colleagues at the Taylor Institution Library - who have supplied content for this guide.

UPDATES

New databases

LatinNews

"LatinNews is the most important source of analysis and news provider for our institution when it comes to authentic information and accurate, insightful analysis on Latin America." Heidelberg Institute for International Conflict Research, Heideliberg University. The Library had a long-standing subscription to the print Weekly and Regional Reports. During the pandemic subscriptions were changed to online only. Weekly reports, Regional reports.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History

With just under 200 articles available, this Oxford Research Encyclopedia provides in-depth overviews of the major areas of research and will continue to grow with the field over time. Access via SOLO.

New LibGuide: Caribbean Studies

Information about the key resources for Caribbean Studies relating to the subject areas of history, politics and economics. The guide has been prepared by Rebeca Otazua, LAC Library. See link below.

Scan and Deliver

There Bodleian Libraries has a Scan & Deliver service (currently free of charge) for items held in its Book Storage Facility. Instead of requesting the physical item to a reading room, you can request scans of sections direct to your desktop. Further details can be found here: http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/services/scan-and-deliver.

PRISMA

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a database containing over a hundred full text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities, for the academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. You can use this database to find journal articles and book reviews, either using a specific reference or searching for material on a particular subject.

The database uses the universal ProQuest platform and we suggest that you try exlporing the database and refer to the ProQuest LibGuide for detailed help. The platform is, however, relatively straightforward and intuituve to use.

HAPI & FBIS

OA, eLD, RDM, ORCID

Two important recent developments in the academic and library worlds have been changes to the funding of Open Access (OA) journal articles and the introduction of eLegal Deposit, which gives publishers the option of providing the five major UK libraries, including Oxford, with legal deposit copies of their journal articles and books in electronic rather than print form.

The last couple of years have also seen interesting developments in the areas of Research Data Management (RDM) and Oxford's adoption of the Open Researcher and Contributor ID or ORCID.

For more information about all three developments, please follow the links below (and for: OA and RDM, see the appropriate tab above):