Skip to main content

e-resources for Women's Studies: eJournals & bibliographic databases

Journal articles via bibliographic databases

To find articles on specific topics, there are many databases available via the A-Z Databases page which index journals and other publications. Search the databases listing for the name of the database you want to use, or browse using the drop-down Subject menu. To access many databases and other e-resources when you are not logged on to the University network, you will need to use your Oxford Single Sign-on. Some databases focus on a particular subject, others are more inter-discilpnary. 

Examples include:

MLA International Bibliography: provides searchable indexed records from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

Historical Abstracts is an online bibliography providing information about journal articles relating to world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

America: History and Life  is an online bibliography providing information about journal articles relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals: this bibliographic database indexes over 340 academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onwards. In addition, the database provides the full-text of 48 of the indexed journals.

Art Full Text: focuses on visual arts, and indexes a number of film journals, including Cahiers du Cinéma, Cinéaste, Film Comment, Film Quarterly, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Jump Cut, Sight and Sound, Studies in Russian and Soviet Cinema.

In some cases, the database will provide the full text of an article. If the full article is not available via the database, search SOLO for the journal title to see if the journal is available in print or electronic format at Oxford. For articles from journals not held at Oxford, it is possible to make an inter-library loan request.

Searching for specific eJournals

If you know the title of the journal you are looking for you can search for it using SOLO or eJournals A-Z to see if an online version is available. You can then either access a particular article or browse the most recent issues of journal.

If the coverage you require is not available online, a link is available from within Oxford eJournals to print holdings on SOLO.

Selection of relevant online journals

The following is just a small seletion of eJournals available. All print and electronic journals can be found and accessed via SOLO.

Critical Inquiry

Feminist Studies

Gender and History

Hypatia: a journal of feminist philosophy

Signs: journal of women in culture and society

Theory, Culture, Society

Women: a Cultural Review

Women's History Review

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)