This guide is intended for students/researchers studying the Macedonian language at the University of Oxford, although students/researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books/online resources for Macedonian, including ebooks, ejournals, bibliographic databases.
Works of Macedonian literature and books about Macedonian language and literature are to be found in the Research Collection of the Taylor Institution Library. This library also has a good selection of Macedonian Language and Literature periodicals and reference material.
In order to locate books on the shelves you will need to find out the shelfmark by looking your title up on SOLO. You will need to transliterate according to the Library of Congress (LC) Transliteration Scheme if you are looking for a Macedonian title. When you have looked up your title you can either go to the shelves if a copy is available or you may need to write the LC shelfmark on a slip and ask one of the Issue Desk staff to fetch it for you from the Research Collection in the basement.
There are two classification schemes at the Taylor Institution Library. New books in the Research collection and the undergraduate collection are classified according to a standard version of the LC classification scheme used across the Bodleian libraries. Older books in both collections are classified according to inhouse adaptations of LC. LC Slavonic shelfmarks beginn with the letters PG. They are then numerically subdivided by language and literature. The Macedonian Church Slavonic sequence begins PG771-799. The Macedonian Language (and Literature) sequence is PG801-1146.
If you come across a shelfmark beginning TNR or REP. SLAV (or no shelf-mark at all), this means that the book is kept out at the Bodleian Storage Facility (BSF) and you will have to do a stack request.
If you cannot find the book on SOLO, you could try looking for it on JISC Library Discover which is a union online catalogue of UK national, academic and specialist libraries. WorldCat covers libraries throughout the world and includes millions of records representing 400 languages. KVK (Karlsruher virtueller Katalog) is another union catalogue covering academic and national libraries throughout Europe and beyond.
Yo may wish to search the catalogue of a Macedonian library such as St Kliment Ohridski Macedonian National Library
You will need to be able to type in Cyrillic. It is quite easy to instal a Cyrillic keyboard onto a computer these days. However, if you do not have access to a Cyrillic keyboard, click here for a Macedonian keyboard.
If you have a specific enquiry relating to Macedonian or Slavonic resources or would like to book an individual appointment for advice about Macedonian or Slavonic resources for your course,please contact:
Nick Hearn (Slavonic Lang. and Lit. Subject Consultant (including Macedonian Lang. and Lit.))
TABS (Taylor Bodleian Slavonic Library), 47, Wellington Square
Monday: 9:00 - 5:00
Tuesday: 9:00 - 5:00
Friday: 2:00 - 5:00
Tel: 01865 (2)70462