Skip to main content

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for Historians: Political History

A general guide to the John Johnson Collection for Historians

Napoleon

A trip to Paris or John Bull and his spouse invited to the honors of the sitting!!

French Wars and Revolutions folder 6 (26)

Political and Military History

Our Political prints are online both through the John Johnson Online Catalogue and (cross-searchable with other collections) through VADS (Visual Arts Data Service).  If you are interested in the period around the French Revolution, you will find a rich source of imagery in the Curzon Collection. The Curzon prints are online through Digital Bodleian.

However, most of the political material is not digitised and you will need to rely on the Indexes.  Please contact the Librarian of the John Johnson Collection for advice and to order material.

The John Fraser Collection of Propaganda Postcards

Donated in 2006, The John Fraser Collection of Propaganda Postcards is a fascinating collection of propaganda (and some topographical) postcards, from the beginnings of the postcard era to date. Its strengths are in the First and Second World Wars, which are represented internationally. 

The John Fraser Collection has not been digitised, but volunteers have been cataloguing the cards, notably those from the South African War, the Women's Suffrage Movement and the First World War.  To browse these postcards in our online catalogue, set the scroll bar to Shelfmarks and type John Fraser, or search in the usual ways using Browse.

Contacts

Julie Anne Lambert's picture
Julie Anne Lambert
Contact:
John Johnson Collection
Bodleian Libraries
Broad Street
Oxford
OX1 3BG
UK
+44 (0)1865 277047
Website