Skip to main content

Middle East, North Africa & Turkey : legal resources: Multi-national groups

Subjects: Law, Law - Foreign Law

Arab Inter-parliamentary Union

Arab Maghreb Union (AMU)

Members: Algeria Libya Mauritania Morocco Tunisia

Francophone nations

Arab League

The League of Arab States is a voluntary association of mainly Arabic-speaking countries to strengthen ties among the member states, coordinate  policies (political, economic, cultural, social) and promote common interests.

Members: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Eqypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, UAE, Yemen

In the economic sphere it has led to a Council of Arab Economic Unity (1957) and the Arab Common Market (1964)


Created by United Nations "in order to fulfil the economic and social goals set out in the United Nations Charter by promoting cooperation and integration between the countries in" the region.

Members: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

GCC : Gulf Cooperation Council

Members: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE

"The GCC Charter states that the basic objectives are to effect coordination, integration and inter-connection between Member States in all fields, strengthening ties between their peoples, formulating similar regulations in various fields such as economy, finance, trade, customs, tourism, legislation, administration, as well as fostering scientific and technical progress in industry, mining, agriculture, water and animal resources, establishing scientific research centres, setting up joint ventures, and encouraging cooperation of the private sector."