Singapore : legal resources: Commentary

Alternative name: IFLP

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (produced by The American Association of Law Libraries) provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law from 1985 onwards. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law. The data is not limited by country of publication, but rather type of publication. Therefore whilst publications concerning British and American law are not included, British and American publications concerning foreign law are included.

The types of documents covered include journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews. The database encompasses all languages. Materials in Greek, Cyrillic, and East Asian vernacular are Romanized according to Library of Congress standards. Arabic and Hebrew titles are translated into English or French.

Alternative name: ILP

Expert indexing that cites articles from the most important legal periodicals and law books.

Relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, Index to Legal Periodicals offers expert indexing of the most important journals and books. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.

Subjects Covered

Administrative Law, Antitrust Legislation, Banking, Constitutional Law, Domestic Relations, Environmental Protection, Estate Planning, Food, Drug & Cosmetic Law, International Law, Labour Law, Landlord/Tenant Decisions, Malpractice Suits, Minorities, Multinational Corporations, Negligence, Non-Profit Corporations, Occupational Health & Safety, Politics, Probate, Products Liability, Public Law, Real Property, Securities, Tax Law, Trade Regulation.

This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic will also be covered.

Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.

Coverage:

•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports

•England and Wales law reports

•US federal and state legislation and law reports

•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports

•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports

•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws

•European Union legislation and law reports

•UK and US law journals and texts

•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)

Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

Alternative names: Web of Science ; SSCI. SSCI is the machine readable version of the printed Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1,400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences. Selected items from over 3,100 physical and natural sciences journals are also included to provide multidisciplinary coverage. This amounts to approximately 130,000 articles per year.

The data, which is updated weekly, consists of articles for the current year, with other year's data going back to 1970. The data for each index defaults to the current year plus the three previous years (this can be reset), with searches covering one index at a time. Many of the more recent articles contain abstracts, as well as author, title and journal information with lists of citations.

This web-based service allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index. The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals, but some legislative publications and major textbooks are also included. The Index is still under development.

Alternative names: LNB ; Lexis Nexis Butterworths Lexis Library

Lexis Nexis Butterworths (LNB) includes primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.

It has particularly good collections of UK cases and in particular includes The Law Reports and The All England Law Reports, as well as many specialist series of reports. It is also a good source of UK legislation as it includes all UK Acts and Statutory Instruments as they currently stand.

LNB is also an excellent source of US primary legal materials and includes a huge amount of legal commentary from the UK and the US.

Lexis content formerly provided via the Lexis Nexis Professional interface is now available via LNB which replaces Professional.