Skip to Main Content

Numismatics: Books

The premier research library for the study of Numismatics in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the former library of the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Numismatics

Introduction

The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched for via SOLO. If you are new to Oxford libraries or to SOLO, we recommend visiting the 'Getting Started' and 'How to' guides at the links below.

Physical Books

The following tabs list Oxford libraries with physical collections of interest to the study of Numismatics. Collections access and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:

Sackler Library 

  • The Sackler Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries’ principal research libraries, with collections focusing on the study of archaeology and the ancient world, art and architectural history, and numismatics. It offers borrowing services, IT and printing facilities and workspaces.
  • The books of the Heberden Coin Room are held in the Sackler Library 

Bodleian Library

  • The Lower Reading Room of the Bodleian Library contains the open shelf collection of texts, translations, commentaries and monographs on the major Greek and Latin authors, as well as reference works, periodicals, and selected scholarship in Ancient History, Ancient Philosophy, Philology, Numismatics, Epigraphy, Papyrology, and Late Antiquity.

Weston Library

  • The Weston Library is the Bodleian's Special Collections Library and is where the extensive collection of manuscripts, early, and rare books are housed and consulted. 

Book Recommendations and Inter-Library Loans

If we don't have the book you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.

Why are some books not available electronically?

There are a number of reasons why the Bodleian Libraries may be unable to provide electronic acces to a resource. The Social Science Library have produced a brief, digestible blog post explaining some of these reasons:

Electronic Books

Ebooks are digital manifestations of written works. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of printed books. Many have enhanced functionality, while some have restrictive access and usage terms.

The links below are provided for those wishing to learn more about ebooks, while the following tabs list ebook collections and platforms relevant to the study of the ancient world.

The following is a sample of ebook collections applicable to those studying Classics at Oxford. However, as a highly interdisciplinary subject, other  collections may be of relevance. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.