Skip to main content

Egyptology: Top Tips for Databases

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Egyptology

Databases useful for Oxford Egyptology courses

Digital Topographical Bibliography - The Topographical Bibliography of Ancient Egyptian Hieroglyphic Texts, Statues, Reliefs and Paintings, (also known as "Porter & Moss" or "TopBib") is an essential and comprehensive reference resource for Egyptologists, presenting and analysing both published and unpublished information about ancient Egyptian monuments.

Online Egyptological Bibliography - The OEB which is available through SOLO holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. The project is based in the Griffith Institute at Oxford University.

Ramses Online - Ramses Online is an interface which gives access to part of the data and functionalities of the Corpus annoté des textes néo-égyptiens, also known as Projet Ramsès which is based at Liège University.

Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae -  It is the purpose of the TLA to make available, in the form of a virtual dictionary, a new and, within Egyptology novel, tool for lexicographic research into the Egyptian language. The database includes an online corpus of texts.

Trismegistos - An interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources formerly Egypt and the Nile valley (800 BC-AD 800), now expanding to the Ancient World in general.