Skip to main content

Egyptology: Photography, images and film

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Egyptology

Image databases

ARTstor - Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.

Bridgeman Education - 300,000+ images of objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine. All periods, all geographic areas.

Deutsches Dokumentationszentrum für Kunstgeschichte - Bildarchiv Foto Marburg - The Bildarchiv Foto Marburg is the German Centre for Documentation of Art History. It is a national and international research and service institute, supported by the Philipps University in Marburg. Its mission is to collect, index and make available photographs related to European art and architecture. Containing over 1.7 million images, the Archive include images relating to Egypt and the Ancient Near East.

Flickr Commons - The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

Griffith Institute Archive - The Griffith Institute Archive houses a diverse and significant collection which explores the wealth of Ancient Egypt, the jewel being Howard Carter's complete excavation records for the discovery of the tomb of Tutankhamun. Apart from the Burton photographs it has been sharing the content of its Egyptological Archive through a variety of online projects since 1995 having placed nearly 20,000 pages of original documentation in the public domain.

Meretsegerbooks - Our private collection of over 15,000 pictures of most sites in Egypt is at your disposal, free of charge. You are welcome to use them in your publications, provided the source is acknowledged. 

Oriental Institute Photographic Archive - The website gives access to a sampling of images from the photographic archives of the Oriental Institute, capturing the archaeological work of the OI in the Near East, Egypt and the Sudan. The complete archive contains over 100,000 negatives documenting the Institute’s activities from 1892 to the present. These images record now-vanished temples and tombs, famed archaeologists standing proudly near their greatest finds and scenes of life now effaced by modern times.

Oxford Art Online - Full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits. who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on artists, art historians, patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.

Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center (US) - Access to 2 million+ museum, archive, library and research holdings and collections across the Smithsonian's various sub-entities.

Ancient Egypt in films

Ancient Egypt Film Site - This site offers an elaborate overview of motion pictures and tv movies that prominently feature Egyptology and ancient Egypt, its monuments or sites.