There follows a list of links to a selection of useful online resources for Music, a mixture of resources to which the Bodleian Libraries subscribe and freely-available resources. Some are permanently accessible; to others we have been granted temporary free access or trials during the COVID-19 crisis* although most of these trials are now over. The subscription databases are available remotely to current University members through their Single Sign-On (SSO) and, along with some of the open access resources, can also be accessed through the Databases A-Z list on the front page of SOLO or through SOLO itself. The resources on this list appear in no particular order and will be updated as more resources become available.
- Oxford Music Online (Grove) - Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, also incorporating The Grove Dictionary of Opera.
- MGG (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart) - The standard German reference work for music (with a built-in translation feature!)
- MusRef - Guide to More than 11,000 Print and Internet Music Reference Resources.
- Digital Resources for Musicology - Links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists.
- Golden Pages for Musicologists - Announcements for forthcoming conferences in musicology and related disciplines, an archive of dissertation abstracts, links to music departments worldwide, and other links of interest to musicologists.
- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Music Online) - The first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Concert Programmes Database - A database of collections of concert programmes held in European libraries, archives and museums:
a resource for the history of musical life from the eighteenth century to the present day.
- Cecilia - Guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.
- Encore - The union catalogue of sets of performance music in UK libraries.
- Musical Festivals Database - British Musical Festival Repertoire 1695-1940.
- Genome - Radio Times archive, 1923 – 2009.
- RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature - Indexes and abstracts to musical literature of all types from 1967 onwards.
- RIPM with Full Text - Retrospective index to 19th- and early 20th-century music periodicals, many with full text.
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest) - A music journal resource with more than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1874 to current, covering the scholarly to the popular.
- Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums online - A free international bibliography of music literature, edited by the Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Berlin, the continuation of the printed bibliographic indexes which ceased publication in 2001. Currently, BMS has more than 415,000 records of music literature.
- Oxford Bibliographies (Music) - Research guides covering a wide range of composers and other musical topics.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (AMS) - An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. See also the general thesis resources ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (many full text) and EThOS.
- RISM-OPAC - Union-catalogue of musical sources in libraries around the world. The manuscripts mostly date from 1600 and 1850. The focus of printed music is imprints up to 1800 by a single composer and printed collections published between 1500 and 1550 although coverage is far from comprehensive. Complements the various RISM printed volume series.
- DIAMM (Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) - Archive of high-quality digital images and manuscript descriptions constituting a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts, although many later sources are also included. Free but registration required.
- Cantus - A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant / Inventories of Chant Sources, run by the University of Waterloo, Canada.
- Early Music Online - Over 320 volumes of 16th-century anthologies of printed music, digitised from holdings at the British Library.
- WLSCM (Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music) - A growing catalogue of music in modern editions for scholars, performers, and students.
- Books of Hispanic Polyphony (IMP-CSIC) - A Catalogue of Books of Spanish and New World Polyphonic Music in Context.
- EECM Primary Source Database - An online version of the sources volumes from the Early English Church Music series.
- Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology - Over 5300 individual entries on hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today.
- IPA Source - The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
- Bach digital - Detailed and global database with digital reproductions of works/sources by J. S. Bach and the whole Bach family
- Hofmeister XIX - An on-line, searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte for the years 1829-1900. Containing some 330,000 records of music publications, it is the most extensive resource for establishing what was published where and when during that period.
- IMSLP (Petrucci Music Library) - A great resource for digitized music scores in the public domain but remember, what is public-domain in one country may not be in another so not all scores on IMSLP can legally be used in the UK.
- Choral Wiki (Choral Public Domain Library) - One of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use it to find scores, texts and translations of choral music.
- Boosey & Hawkes Online Scores - Register for free to peruse many of Boosey's scores online. Downloading and printing not possible.
- NMA Online - Digitised version of Mozart's collected works (Neue Mozart-Ausgabe)
Audio-Visual Music Streaming: