Skip to main content

Catalan: Journals and articles

Subjects: Modern Languages

Newspapers

Newspapers are a great way to expand your Catalan vocab and increase your reading speed.

Full text journals - free!

RACO (Revistes Catalanes amb Accés Obert) is an initiative that has made the full text of hundreds of Catalan journals freely available online. To access these through OxLIP+, go to Find E-journal, click the Other options tab, and under Vendor select RACO Revistes Catalanes amb Accés Obert. Click GO to see the full list.

Finding journal articles

When you search for a journal article in SOLO, remember that you must search for the title of the journal, NOT the title of the article. You can then select the 'Find and request' tab to see which issues of the journal are available, and identify the one that your article is in. If Oxford has electronic access to the journal, there will be a direct link from SOLO.

Another way to to find journal articles either using a given reference e.g from your reading list or by doing a subject search is to use a bibliographic database. In Oxford these are accessed through OxLIP+, where you can search for a particular database or browse by subject. Bibliographic databases contain details of thousands of journal articles, book chapters and dissertations. You can often link directly to a full text copy of an article from such a database. Below are some of the most popular options for modern languages.

If you have any difficulty locating journals or specific articles, please ask in the library or email your subject librarian.

Traces

  • Traces is a bibliographic database for Catalan language and literature, including linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and translation. It contains over 70,000 citations, encompassing journal and newspaper articles, monographs, book chapters and theses. The Traces project was created in 1987 by the Grup d'Estudis de Literatura Catalana Contemporània (GELCC) of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.

MLA International Bibliography

  •  MLA is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run, and currently contains more than 2 million records. The database is regularly updated, and is one of the most commonly used for finding modern languages citations.

JSTOR

  • JSTOR holds content from more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources. You can search using keywords, or browse under the headings for your subject.

Finding journals

If you are interested in finding a particular journal title, or you have a specific article reference, you can search for it directly via SOLO.  You can refine your results to show only print or electronic versions.

Alternatively, you can search for online journals directly via our E-journals A-Z listing. Please be aware that online access might only be available for selected years.

In the Taylorian, you can also browse modern languages journals in P.R.R., the reading room for SpanishPortuguese & Latin American (as well as Linguistics and Italian).  P.R.R. is on the second floor, opposite the Enquiry Room. There is also a Basement Periodicals (B.Per) section. All titles are shelved alphabetically.

If you have any difficulty locating a journal, please ask a member of staff. Print journals are for use in the library only, but photocopies may be made within copyright restrictions.

If you're interested in searching for articles on a particular topic, it's best to use a bibliographic database. Take a look at the suggestions below.