Skip to main content

Biomedical Sciences - First Year: Online Library Resources

Search SOLO

Key Online Reference Works

SOLO LibGuide

Links on the Web

Library Online Reference

The libraries provide a range of high quality and authoritative reference books online. Our electronic reference collection covers topics from language to medicine and life sciences.

You can access this material from within the library or off campus using your Single Sign-On (SSO). These titles are an excellent starting point for researching a new topic or looking up reliable information and key facts.

You can find all of our electronic reference material by searching SOLO. Some suggestions for titles to start with are given below.

The Henry Stewart Talks

Henry Stewart Talks LogoThe Henry Stewart Talks are a collection of over 2000 audio presentations by leading academics accompanied by slides, covering topics in the life and biomedical sciences. You can watch whole lectures or smaller sections online and download lecture slides.

 

Topics include -

  • Chemical Biology
  • Cognitive Neuroscience
  • From DNA to Proteins
  • The Cell Division Cycle
  • Introduction to Human Genetics

Many more are available in the Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection

Key Reference Titles

 

General Reference

Oxford Reference Online Encyclopedia Britannica Online Credo Reference
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
  • Bilingual dictionaries
  • English grammar reference
  • Maps & atlases
  • Dictionary of National Biography
  • General reference
  • Dictionaries
  • Encyclopaedias
  • Geographical information

 

Scientific Reference

Knovel Critical Tables Handbook of Statistics Smithsonian Physical Tables
  • Chemical and physical data
  • Large collection of books covering all aspects of statistics
  • Physical and chemical constants
  • Units of measurement and conversion tables
  • Mathematical constants
  • Standard mathematical formulae

 

Life Sciences and Biomedical Reference

Oxford Reference Online Credo Reference Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
  • Dictionaries of biology, medicine and biomedical sciences
  • Oxford Companion to Medicine
  • Dictionaries of biology and medicine
  • Basic medical reference works
  • Detailed articles on topics in the life sciences and molecular biology

Contact the Library

The Radcliffe Science Library

Photograph of the exterior of the RSL

Website:

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science

E-mail:

enquiries.rsl@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Telephone:

+44 1865-272800

Scan this QR code to save our contact details to your phone.

RSL QR code

RSL News Feed

Loading ...