Skip to main content

Tax law: Books

Subjects: Law

How to find e-books

Although normal searches (eg by author and keywords from title) in SOLO will return results covering both books and ebooks (where applicable) holders of an Oxford Single Sign On should independently open & check in both LexisLibrary (via the Sources Link)
AND Westlaw Books to see which titles are included in these databases.
Both services have (different) collections of important texts & reference works for the legal practictioner.

Finding tax books in the Law Bod

As tax law is a taught subject, look out for the phrase "Bodleian Law Library Reserve Collection" as a location in results of searches in SOLO.
Please ask a librarian for directions when you are in the library

Holders of an Oxford Single Sign On are advised to check in the Commentary section of LexisLibrary, in Westlaw's Book collection to see if there are relevant titles there. The holdings in these databases can be hard to find in normal SOLO searches.

Subject searches to try in SOLO to find tax law titles include

Taxation - law and legislation
Income tax - law and legislation
Corporations -- Taxation -- Law and legislation
Tax planning

The name of a particular jurisdiction can added eg  - Great Britain - so that the results are filtered.

Of course it is also possible to see if there are titles just dealing with a more narrow aspect of tax law. Some examples are:

Capital gains tax - Law and legislation
Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations -- Taxation
Double taxation
Gifts -- Taxation
Inheritance and transfer tax  - Law and legislation
International business enterprises -- Taxation -- Law and legislation
Investments - Taxation - Law and legislation
Investments, Foreign - Taxation - Law and legislation
Tax administration and procedure
Tax evasion
Tax havens
Tax planning 
Tax shelters - Law and legislation
Value added tax - Law and legislation

Conversely,  to find titles looking more at policy try

Taxation   and/or Fiscal policy  (with or without Great Britain etc as above. )

and/or remove the "law and legislation" element from your subject search & run it again.

 

The Law Library in on four floors.

The level at which you enter the library is Level 2.

Collections on Level 2

KM Here are books relating to tax law in the UK, and those tax books from Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and USA which the Law Library holds
General books with shelfmark beginning general are comparative treatments.
Jurisp  Collection beginning with this shelfmark are philosophical examinations eg law and econdomics

Collections on Level 3
One floor up from the entrance level. Books about tax law in European jurisdictions (intuitive shelfmakrs eg France), European Union law shelfmarks begin Euro Comm,  and international taxation - shelfmarks beginning Internat.

Collections on Level 2
One floor below the entrance level, has books from the remaining foreign jurisdictions eg India and China.

Ground Floor
Books with shelf marks ending (sec coll) are superseded (old) editions. But remain available on open shelf, should you wish to consult them.