Skip to main content

Biochemistry: Theses & Dissertations

Guide to Oxford University library resources, facilities and services for Biochemistry.

Links for Theses and Dissertations

Depositing your Thesis

Students following a postgraduate research programme at the University of Oxford are required to deposit a hardcopy and a digital copy of their thesis.

The hardbound copy should be deposited with the Examination Schools to be then stored in the Bodleian Collection.

The digital copy should be deposited in ORA.  For further information on how to deposit, copyright, and pre-publication visit ORA Help & Information page.

How do I find a Thesis?

How to find an Oxford thesis

Search SOLO for print and digital theses. In the search box Oxford Collections, you can add "thesis University of Oxford" to the thesis title or with your keywords.  Alternatively, run the search and select "Theses" from Limit your search menu.

You can narrow theses result by department. In the search box Oxford Collections, ‚Äčtype "Theses Department of Biochemistry". 

SOLO displays ORA digital theses records. However, full text may not be available because some theses are under an embargo. Theses embargo can last between 1 and 3 years. Printed theses are rarely embargoed. If the digital version is not available, check if the printed version is in SOLO. You can request to view the printed version of an embargoed digital thesis.

                                  

Consulting printed theses

You will be required to sign the Copyright declaration form before consultation. A written permission from the author of the thesis is required for making printed or digital copies including personal digital photography or for quoting in a publication.  

Here is an example of the same thesis available in print with its digital copy under embargo:

Printed thesis available to consult  Click Find and Request to view location and request it to the Radcliffe Science Library.

Digital thesis embargoed

                                                

ORA (Oxford University Research Archive) for digital theses. A number of recent theses and dissertations prepared at Oxford are available to download from the Oxford Research Archive (ORA)Help on using ORA can be found here: Search tips

Services for finding other British theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — UK & Ireland for theses from British and Irish universities as far back as 1716. 

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online Service from the British Library.

Both services provide abstracts for most theses and some full-text downloads.

Services for finding theses from any other universities

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Globalwhere you can see a preview before purchasing the full text.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal - gives access to open access research theses from 564 Universities in 28 European countries.

Finding Theses and Dissertations in the Library

Physical Collections

The RSL contains physical copies of Oxford theses and MSc dissertations. These can be obtained by searching the catalogue (using SOLO) and placing a hold/stack request.Some biological sciences theses such as those from Zoology are available on the open shelves on Level 2 of the Library.

Theses from other Universities may be found by searching services such as Proquest Dissertations (US Dissertations) and Index to Theses (UK Theses).

Subject Guide

Karine Barker's picture
Karine Barker
Contact:
Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford
OX1 3QP
01865272802
Website Skype Contact: LibrarianRSL

Other Relevant Guides

Need Help?

General information is on the RSL at the VHL website.

For biochemistry subject enquiries please contact Karine Barker-

karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries, check our Subjects page.