Skip to main content

Biochemistry: Databases

Guide to Oxford University library resources, facilities and services for Biochemistry.

Finding Articles

Finding Articles

If you are searching for articles on a specific subject or by a specific author, it is reccomended that you search one of our bibliographic databases. These will in many cases give you direct access to electronic full-text articles where we have an active subscription.

Search tips

Databases are provided on different interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

  • Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords.
  • Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu):
  • AND - to combine/narrow down;       OR - to broaden;                               NOT - to exclude terms.
  • Use synonyms, alternative terms, phrases and variations in spelling.
  • Use truncation at the end of your term (*)
  • Refine results by subjects, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
  • Select/Mark relevant references and display results.
  • Save, E-mail or Export selected references.
  • Set-up an email Alert to receive references of new articles containing your search terms

To learn how to use effectively specific functions on the key databases see also:

 

Core Databases

      

Research Databases at Oxford

Oxford subscribes to a large number of Bibliographic databases, which can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents, by subject or by a particular author. Subscription databases can be found and accessed through OxLip+.

If you are on campus you can access most databases directly. If you are off campus you will be asked to login for remote acces to library resources using your SSO (Single Sign-On).

Further help in using OxLip+ can be found in the OxLip+ LibGuide.

Databases for Biochemistry

The following bibliographic, abstract, and full text databases provide good coverage of material in biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics and other related life sciences subjects. 

This page also contains some links to databases for:

  • Bioinformatics and Biostatistics
  • Chemistry
  • Online seminars in the biomedical and life sciences

Databases for Bioinformatics/Biostatistics

The following databases provide access to data and resources for bioinformatics. You will find many more Bioinformatics resources in the dedicated 'Resources for Bioinformatics' LibGuide.

Henry Stewart Talks

Databases for Chemistry

The following resources are key databases for Chemistry.  Visit the Chemistry Libguide for the full list, including online tutorials.

Subject Guide

Karine Barker's picture
Karine Barker
Contact:
Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford
OX1 3QP
01865272802
Website Skype Contact: LibrarianRSL

Other Relevant Guides

Need Help?

General information is on the RSL website.

For biochemistry subject enquiries please contact Karine Barker-

karine.barker@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries, check our Subjects page.

Request a Resource