Skip to main content

Canadian law: Legal system

Canadian political system

Canada is a constitutional monarchy.
Recognition of the Queen as head of State is largely symbolic -however, laws are still enacted in the name of the monarch.
The sovereign is represented in Canada by the Governor-General (at federal level) and provincially by Lieutenant-Governors.

Canada is an independent sovereign democracy.

The federal Parliament of Canada, has two divisions: the House of Commons and the Senate.

Canada is made up of 10 provinces - 

and 3 territories

Introduction to legal system

Canadian law dictionaries


Dukelow, D

The dictionary of Canadian law (3rd ed., 2004)   

KL40.C1.DUK 2004

Reid, H

Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien :
avec table des abbreviations et lexique anglais-français (1994)

KL44.C1.REI 1994

Black's Law Dictionary - though specifically on US law - "is widely used in Canadian jurisprudence" (Castel & Latchman, The practical guide to Canadian legal research (3rd ed, 1996) at p.76) The most recent edition is shelved at KL40.U4.BLA 2014