Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Online tools & services

Online tools and services (subscription)

Bloomberg Professional

A subscription service that makes available financial information, news, reports, data and analysis. It contains near real-time and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, commodities, currencies, and futures for both international and domestic markets. Data can be downloaded into excel. The service features an integrated set of in depth tutorials which should be used and understood by first time users.
Access
Bloomberg Professional is only accessible on PCs in the Sainsbury and Bodleian Social Science Libraries, and is restricted to current University members for academic non-commercial research only. Access has to be approved and first time use booked by emailing the Data Librarian John Southall.

EIKON

A financial market intelligence database and a set of financial analysis tools that replaces Thomson Reuters’ previous products ‘Datastream’ and ‘Thomson One’. It provides information on markets, indices, company and economic information and historical financial data. It provides access to trusted, up to the minute and accurate content from more than 5 million securities world-wide. Coverage includes pricing data, research, fundamentals, financial estimates, news, and charts.
Access
Available by a dedicated PC in the Social Science Library and only open to current University staff and researchers (blue card holders).

UKDS.stat

A browser-based tool recently developed by the UK Data Service for exploration of a number of its key macro data collections. It is an attempt to integrate analysis and visualisation with the point of data access.
Access
On UK Data Service, using your SSO to access the full portfolio.

See also examples and video tutorials

Google tools

google tools

Dataset Search
Enables users to find data sets stored across the web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about data sets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web, making these data sets universally accessible and useful.
Public Data Explorer
Makes large public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualise and communicate. As the charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand. Navigate between different views, make your own comparisons, and share your findings.

Online tools & services (free or free trial)

AnswerMiner

Quick data exploration tool for data analysis and visualisation. Offered on a free trial basis.

Exploratory

Offers various tools to make data analysis more accessible and collaborative. For example, Exploratory’s Analytics View facilitates the use a wide range of advanced open source AI / Machine Learning algorithms to discover hidden patterns and trends in your data effectively;
Data Wrangling allows to join/merge multiple data sets together with various options, or filter data by using other data sets;
Visualisation tools give an easier way to spot patterns or trends by comparing them together side by side, or visualise the relationship between pairs of two categorical columns. Offered on a free trial basis.

GESIS: MISSY (Microdata Information System)

Part of the service infrastructure of the German Microdata Lab, MISSY is an online service platform that provides structured metadata for official statistics. It includes metadata at the study and variable level as well as reports and tools for data handling and analysis. All documentation in MISSY refers to EU and national (German microcensus) microdata available for scientific purposes.

For EU-LFS microdata users MISSY offers SPSS- and STATA routines, which transfer the EU-LFS 1999-2016 ad hoc csv-files to SPSS/Stata data files. Latest update are available here.

Nesstar

NESSTARSoftware system for data publishing and online analysis consisting of tools which enables data providers to disseminate their data on the Web. Nesstar handles survey data and multidimensional tables as well as text resources. Users can search, browse and analyse the data online.
Trial licences for Nesstar Server & Webview, plus freeware version of Nesstar Publisher available from Nesstar website.

SeekTable

Free web reporting tool, providing online pivot tables, charts & datagrids builder -- simple data exploration with drill-down -- search driven analytics (natural lang queries) -- export crosstabs to Excel, PDF, CSV, HTML -- share and publish reports for public access.

Social Data Science Lab

An ESRC Data Investment, part of the Big Data Network for the social sciences brings together crime, social, computer, and statistical scientists to study the empirical, methodological, theoretical and technical dimensions of New and Emerging Forms of Data in social, policy and business contexts. This empirical social data science programme is complemented by a focus on ethics and the development of new methodological tools and technical solutions for the UK academic, public and private sectors.
The Lab develops and supports the COSMOS Open Data Analytics software, that provides ethical access to social media data for social science researchers.