Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Health & Social care

UK: health & social care statistics

Global statistics

Global Health

Brings together the resources of two databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS.

Global Health Observatory (GHO) data

GHO theme pages cover global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, mortality and burden of disease, health systems, environmental health, noncommunicable diseases, infectious diseases, health equity and violence and injuries. The database provides access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users are able to display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format.
WHO

OECD Health Statistics

Most of the data are made available through the UK Data Service but further analysis and commentary is provided by the OECD iLibrary with direct links to health statistics, social and welfare statistics along with indicators on health care use, health resources and other areas.

UN Health and Disability statistics

The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system. The Demographic Yearbook vital statistics questionnaire is used to collect these data. A more detailed description of these statistics can be found on the natality and mortality websites.
The Division is also engaged in the area of human functioning and disability statistics.

biobank UKUK Biobank

A national and international health resource open to all bona fide health researchers. UK Biobank is following the health and well-being of 500,000 volunteer participants and provides health information, which does not identify them, to approved researchers in the UK and overseas.

Surveys

1970 British Cohort Study (BCS70)

A longitudinal survey, originally known as the Child Health and Education Study (CHES) collecting data about the births and families of approximately eleven thousand babies born in the United Kingdom in one particular week in 1970.

Demographic Health Surveys (DHS)

The DHS Program has collected, analysed and disseminated data on population, health, HIV and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.
Datasets are available for free after a simple registration process.

Health Survey for England

The annual HSE asks a number of core questions, but each year focuses on a different disease or condition or population group.

Mass Observation Online

Access to material from the ethnographic project ‘Mass Observation’. A searchable topic collection covers issues such as family planning, health, sexual behaviour and smoking habits. The resource also includes interactive maps, bibliographic resources and essays on various aspects of Mass Observation.

Survey of Health, Ageing and Retirement in Europe (SHARE)

A multidisciplinary and cross-national panel database of microdata on health, socio-economic status and social and family networks from 20 European countries (+Israel) aged 50 or older.
The SHARE data can be downloaded from the SHARE Research Data Center or GESIS Data Archive for the Social Sciences under certain conditions.

Understanding Society: Interviewer Survey, 2014 - United Kingdom Household Longitudinal Study (UKHLS)

A multi-topic household survey (also known as Understanding Society) with a strong emphasis on health, family and social ties, work and quality of life. The study is an annual survey of each adult member of a nationally representative sample.