Skip to main content

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Data Archives & Services

Bodleian Data Library

The Bodleian Data Library provides a range of services for researchers and students at the University of Oxford who need to make secondary use of statistics and data with the initial focus on the social sciences -

  • supports researchers and students in finding, accessing and using social science statistics and data;
  • manages the access and curation of restricted and sensitive datasets which may not be networked including data supplied by Eurostat;
  • offers a new data brokering and clearing house service for the acquisition of datasets by research centres in the Social Sciences Division;
  • provides consultancy services and highlights training opportunities;
  • alerts researchers to new sources of data.

For data enquiries and help please email data@bodleian.ox.ac.uk, or contact the Data Librarian, John Southall (tel.: 01865 285936) at Bodleian Social Science Library direct.

UK Data Service and Data Archive

UK Data Service

A single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.

UK Data Archive

Curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom keeping several thousand datasets relating to society, both historical and contemporary provides a range of services supporting creators and users of social and economic data.

ICPSR

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

  • Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction,
  • Offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use,
  • Preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant,
  • Provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

ESRC

National Data Strategy (NDS)

Sets out priorities for the development of research data resources.

Administrative Data Liaison Service

ADLS supports academic research and is the focal centre for knowledge, help and assistance with the major administrative datasets in the UK.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary provides access to statistical databases, series,full-text books, periodicals and reports released by the OECD, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF containing citation tool for datasets and tables.

Databases

OECD.Stat
 

Key Tables

Country tables
 

Books

OECD Factbook

CESSDA

cessda eric

Council of European Social Science Data Archives

An umbrella organisation for social science data archives across Europe. The CESSDA Catalogue enables users to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets, stored at archives throughout Europe. Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data from the European Social Survey, the Eurobarometers, and the International Social Survey Programme among others.

IASSIST

IASSIST: International Association for Social Science Information & Technology

An international organisation of professionals working in and with IT and data services to support research and teaching in the social sciences, represents data archives, statistical agencies, research centers, libraries, academic and government departments, and non-profit organizations.

Other Data Archives and Services

GESIS GESIS

Provides information, consultation and data, supports and facilitates scientific work at every stage of the research process.

GESIS: MISSY (Microdata Information System)

Part of the service infrastructure of the German Microdata Lab, MISSY is an online service platform that provides structured metadata for official statistics. It includes metadata at the study and variable level as well as reports and tools for data handling and analysis. All documentation in MISSY refers to EU and national (German microcensus) microdata available for scientific purposes.

For EU-LFS microdata users MISSY offers SPSS and STATA routines which transfer the EU-LFS 1999-2016 ad hoc csv-files to SPSS/Stata data files. Latest update are available here.

Harvard Dataverse

Open source research data repository software hosts data on social science research from all over the world.You can search, browse, or create a dataverse of your own.

Open Data Foundation (ODaF)

Open Data FoundationDedicated to the adoption of global metadata standards and the development of open-source solutions promotes the use of statistical data.

The Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD)

FSDA national resource centre for social science research and teaching.

IDAN

IDAN (International Data Access Network) project

A collaboration between six Research Data Centres (RDCs) from France, Germany, The Netherlands and the United Kingdom founded in 2018 to facilitate research use of controlled access data between these RDCs/countries. In its first phase IDAN aims to enable researchers to work remotely on controlled access data provided by partner countries from within each Research Data Centre with all access points in the same physical place (RDC/Safe Room).

FT Series: Data analytics

Decoding Big Data

Data analytics from ft.com

The digitisation of our lives has generated an unprecedented surge of data. Technological advances have made collecting, storing and analysing large amounts of data cheaper and easier than ever before.
Loading ...