Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Document & Newspaper Archives

Documents

Declassified Documents Reference System

Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.

Digital National Security Archive

Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available.

Ethnic Newswatch

The Database covers 1990- present, with coverage of various ethnic categories.

Forced migration online

Provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) 1974-1996 [selections]

The US' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950

Covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Political History

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-66

Confidential Print: Middle East

Confidential Print: North America

Conservative Party Archive Margaret Thatcher - Complete Public Statements, 1945-1990

ProQuest Documents on British Policy Overseas

A collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) on diplomatic history throughout the 20th century.

Cambridge Archive Editions: China Political Reports 1911-1960, 1961-1970

The collection draws together the periodic political reports sent by British officials based in China back to the British Foreign Office.

Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, Trans-Jordan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1836-1944

Covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War. The archive is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C.

Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century

Combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison.

Modern Political Papers

To get more detailed information on how to access Special Collections resources, including Modern political papers, available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide Finding Aids- Archives & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library: Modern Political Papers.

Online Archives

Archives Unbound

♦ Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988 and 1856-1988
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues

Archive of Market and Social Research

Freely available online to researchers, AMSR, a growing archive containing books, research journals, data abstracts and conference papers from the output of research over many decades, allows to explore the dynamics of change, particularly in consumer behaviour.
The search program includes data on sociology and cultural and social history, and is a source of information on trend data.

Mass Observation Online

Includes the entire file report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the day surveys, directives and diaries, 1937-1942, early publications and selected topic collection.

UK Web Archive

Contains UK websites that no longer exist elsewhere collected since 2004. Sites yet to be archived can be saved for the future by nominating them.

National Archives

UKGov PRO Six Monthly Crawl

Six monthly collection of UK government websites.

European Constitution Crawl

Web harvest of political related websites before and after constitution elections.

UKGov PRO Weekly Crawl

Weekly collection of 11 UK government websites.

Legal Archives

Justcite

Justcite is a fully cross referenced index to UK and EU case law. Each entry includes a full list of citations, subject headings and judicial history and direct links to the full text on Justis, Westlaw, and Bailii.

JUSTIS

Select either Justis or JustisOne. Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and other materials whilst JustisOne provides access to UK, Irish, Australian and Canadian judgments, reported and unreported.

Lexis Library

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.

WestlawUK

A large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.

Westlaw AU

Australian Legal Database containing many law reports, journals, legislation, case digests and citators, encyclopaedias and commentary including the Laws of Australia.

Newspapers Archives

ProQuest
Historical Newspapers

NewsVault

Gale NewsVault

Cross-searching of the Library's collection of historical newspapers.