Skip to main content

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Economics & Finance

Trade Statistics

AREAER Online

The Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAER) tracks the exchange rate and trade regimes of all members of the International Monetary Fund and three territories (Aruba, Hong Kong SAR, and Curaçao and Sint Maarten—formerly the Netherlands Antilles).
Staff and students from UK Higher and further education institutions can access the premium service which allows to bulk download data via the UK Data Service.

BACI

The World trade database developed by the CEPII at a high level of product disaggregation; with original data provided by the United Nations Statistical Division (COMTRADE database) BACI is constructed using an original procedure that reconciles the declarations of the exporter and the importer. This harmonization procedure enables to extend considerably the number of countries for which trade data are available, as compared to the original dataset.
You can access BACI from a University networked computer.

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN COMTRADE)

Contains detailed import and export flow data for over 200 countries listed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Where possible quantities are converted into metric units. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and all go up to the most recent completed year.
Commodities are classified according to Standard International Trade Classification (SITC) and the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS). The original data are also converted and stored in alternative classifications.

UNCTADStat (Commodity Price Statistics)

Provide monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependant countries. Price indices are provided for commodity groups (including food, tropical beverages, vegetable oilseeds and oils, agricultural raw materials, minerals, ores and metals), and for all groups in current dollars and SDRs. Additional features include: instability indices and trends in prices; annual maximum and minimum values of monthly price averages; and Commodity Price Bulletin in PDF format.

Markets Data and Research

Capital IQ

Combines information on companies, markets, and people worldwide with tools for analysis, financial modelling, market analysis, screening, targeting, and relationship and workflow management.
On-site access is available to undergraduates at designated PCs in the Social Science Library (SSL), on request to the SSL staff. NOTE: Postgraduates and members of faculty may lodge a request for an individual login.

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)

Contains the full-text of news sources in English and native languages from emerging market countries along with a vast amount of macroeconomic, financial, industry and company analysis data and reports.

Global Financial Data

A collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Any of 20,000 historical or current data series may be immediately downloaded directly from the web site.

IBIS

Mintel

Market intelligence agency providing data, market research and analysis, competitive and product intelligence.

NexisUk

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.

Nikkei Telecom21

A comprehensive online business database service consists of four main sections: a full text search of Nikkei’s four business newspapers, company information search, the Who’s Who personnel search, and real Time Nikkei flash news.

Passport GMID

Global Market Information Database, an integrated online information system provides business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It includes statistics, full market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.

Worldbank data

Access directly via the Databank or browse the data catalogue.

EIKON service

THOMSON REUTERS EIKON

A financial market intelligence database that replaces Thomson Reuters’ previous products ‘Datastream’ and ‘Thomson One’ now available on one desktop workstation in the “SSL Data Area”.
It provides information on markets, indices, company and economic information and historical financial data. It provides access to trusted, up to the minute and accurate content from more than 5 million securities world-wide. Coverage includes Pricing Data, Research, Fundamentals, Financial Estimates, News and Charts.

More information is available on SOLO and on directly from Thomson Reuters along with their training materials. Guides are available in the SSL Data Area or to download from the SSL website guides section.

Financial markets research services

Bloomberg professional service

Provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Coverage includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives. Much of the information can be presented graphically.

Access restricted to current members of subscribing institution. Program installed only on designated Library PC.

THOMSON REUTERS EIKON

A financial market intelligence database that replaces Thomson Reuters’ previous products ‘Datastream’ and ‘Thomson One’ now available on one desktop workstation in the “SSL Data Area”.
It provides information on markets, indices, company and economic information and historical financial data. It provides access to trusted, up to the minute and accurate content from more than 5 million securities world-wide. Coverage includes Pricing Data, Research, Fundamentals, Financial Estimates, News and Charts.

More information is available on SOLO and on directly from Thomson Reuters along with their training materials. Guides are available in the SSL Data Area or to download from the SSL website guides section.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

An interface provided by Wharton Business School, allowing access to a number of datasets for financial research and analysis.
Note: Only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access by clicking on the link on the sign-in webpage.
Please contact Research support with any enquiries.

IMF

IMF eLibrary

The IMF elibrary provides online access to the complete collection of global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) comprising more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF's statistical databases.

IMF International Finance Statistics (IFS)

The standard source for all aspects of international and domestic finance.

International Debt Statistics

International Debt Statistics

The dataset focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases).

Agriculture

FAOSTATFood and Agriculture Organization of the UN

Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to hunger, food and agriculture for appr. 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the present. It also offers an innovative tool, FAOSTAT Analysis, for basic statistical analysis of the data.

Company data (BvD)

fame

Offers detailed information on UK and Irish companies.

orbis EUROPE

A pan-European database, formerly known as Amadeus contains financial information on public and private companies.

zephyr

Provides comprehensive M&A data with integrated detailed company information.

For a comrehensive list of business resources see The Sainsbury Library: Key Business Resources libguide.

FT.com-Global Economy

Loading ...