Skip to main content

Geography and the Environment: Theses

Guide to the latest and most useful research resources for geography and the environment

SOGE Undergraduate Dissertations

Prize winning undergraduate dissertations are available in print in the Social Science Library opposite the printing and photocopying room. These start from the year 2000 onwards. Prize winning dissertations from 1979 to 1999 are located offsite but can be ordered to the Social Science Library by searching for the title on SOLO. A full list of the titles is located with the dissertations in the library and is also here.

Prize winning dissertations from 2019 are also available on the SOGE intranet here.

There is also a a listing of all non-prize winning dissertations by year from 2003 which includes their abstracts, located by the dissertations. 

SOGE MSc Dissertations

BCM, ECM, NSEG & WSPM MSc Dissertations

MSc dissertations with a Distinction are located in the Social Science Library opposite the printer and photocopier room. All dissertations with a Distinction are available in printed format for the years 1995 to 2017. Dissertations from 2018 onwards are only available electronically on the SOGE intranet here.

DPhil Theses

DPhil theses in print format are kept off-site at the Bodleian Book Storage Facility. They can be found on SOLO by a keyword search including the word ‘thesis’. Alternatively there is a browseable list by year on the SOGE intranet with links to SOLO here.

DPhil theses in print format can only be requested to the Weston Library for consultation.

Many of the more recent DPhil theses are also available to read online unless they have an embargo. These are on the university repository, ORA. The SOGE intranet browseable list also includes links to the online full text in ORA where available.

 

Theses and Dissertations from other Universities

 

Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Global

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship with links to databases of electronic theses from around the world.

The EThoS service from the British Library contains information about UK theses, with increasing availability of full-text downloads (if a library or an individual has paid for digitization).

Further information about sources to find information on searching, requesting, acquiring and copying theses & dissertations can be found at the Bodleian Libguide Theses & Dissertations

 

 

Guide: Finding Oxford Theses