Skip to main content

Human Rights: Journals

Finding articles

Below is a list of journal indexes as well as some of the legal databases that have substantial journal collections. These are best to use if you are searching for articles by subject. For guides on how to use these see the presentations below.

Social Science Citation Index - Available to OU members via SOLO. Abstracts of articles with links to where to access them at Oxford.

Legal Index to Periodicals - Available to OU members via SOLO. Abstracts of articles with links to where to access them at Oxford.

Legal Index to Foreign Periodicals - Available to OU members via SOLO. Abstracts of articles with links to where to access them at Oxford.

Westlaw International - World Journals - Available to OU Members via SOLO (to access this choose Westlaw UK and choose Westlaw International under Services).  Full text.

Google Scholar - Free resource.  A selection of full text, citations and abstracts for articles as well as books.

HeinOnline - Available to OU members via SOLO.  Full text.

Latest articles

These feeds are only available to members of Oxford University.  You need to log in with your Oxford Single Sign-on details to see the current list of contents.  To read the journal, click on the journal (not the article) title, which will take you through to the Oxford e-journals.

Google Scholar search box

Google Scholar Search

Journals & e-journals

 Journals dealing with human rights in an international context are shelved at Internat 300 - in an alphabetical arrangement based on their title (ignoring any initial the or a/an). Internat 300 is the place to start if you want to do some shelf browsing. However, this collection is not exhaustive: for example,  annual reports of national human rights commissions will be shelved among that nation's monographs. So it is always worth checking the catalogue (via SOLO) too!  There is a list of some of the Human Rights journal titles in the box on the left.

Finally, articles on human rights and civil rights in domestic law contexts are also likely to appear in journals shelved in the jurisdictional sections. See box on left for tools to help you find them!

Human Rights Law Journal List

Below is a list of journals with human rights content held by the Bodleian Law Library.  This is not an exhaustive list - please search ejournals (link in main box above) to discover which journals are (sometimes also!) available electronically for holders of an Oxford SSO.