Skip to Main Content

Dutch Language and Literature: Books

Dutch Language and Literature

Language and Linguistics

The Meertens Institute has excellent resources for linguistics and dialectology, including dialectatlasses on morphology, phonology and syntax. 

MAND (Morfologische Atlas Nederlandse Dialecten) Morphological dialect atlas

SAND (Syntactische Atlas Nederlandse Dialecten) Syntactic dialect atlas

FAND (Fonologische Atlas Nederlandse Dialecten) Phonological dialect atlas available in the Taylorian (in print)

 

Dialect Atlasses

The Meertens Institute has excellent resources for linguistics and dialectology, including dialect atlasses on morphology, phonology and syntax and the Kaartenbank of dialect atlases and maps.

The ‘Kaartenbank’ (database of maps)  contains scanned maps of Dutch dialects, including previously unpublished maps from the Meertens Institute Archives. It also includes the recent morphological, phonological and syntactic atlases (MAND, FAND, SAND) as well as the Reeks Nederlandse dialect-atlassen by E. Blancquaert & W.Pée and other 20th century dialect atlases. The maps are searchable by lemma.

The Taylorian holds print copies of the MAND, FAND, SAND. The Bodleian (closed stack) has a complete set of Reeks Nederlandse dialect-atlassen

Literature

Reference

The Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (Bibliography of Dutch Language and Literature) contains Dutch, Flemish and foreign titles of books, articles, book chapters and reviews from 1940 to date (occasionally with links to full text). The BNTL is maintained by the Huygens Institute.

Short-Title Catalogue Netherlands (STCN) STCN is the Dutch retrospective bibliography for the period 1540-1800; also included are concise descriptions of Dutch (post-)incunabula. It contains more than 206,000 individual titles and over 520,000 copies from various European libraries.

Algemeen Letterkundig Lexicon is a lexicon of literary terms, produced by the Royal Library (The Hague), the Flemish Heritage Library (Vlaamse Erfgoed bibliotheek) and the Taalunie (Language Association).  The project started in 2012 and is ongoing.

Full text

The Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren (Digital Library for Dutch Literature) contains literary works in full text, from the middle ages to date, secondary literature, information about authors, and an interactive atlas.

Census Nederlands Toneel or Ceneton contains metadata of over 12,000 Dutch plays before 1803 and includes 660 full text editions or facsimile. It brings together works from many Dutch and European Libraries. This resource is designed and maintained by Leiden University.

Early Dutch Books Online (EDBO) : More than 11,000 books from 1781-1800 are available in facsimile and full text and are accompanied by searchable PDF documents. The titles were selected from STCN (Short Title Catalogue Netherlands).

The Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library) collects all Dutch publications and offers a wide range of digital resources on Dutch Language and Literature. Consult Dutch collections on Wegwijzer Nederlands.

Delpher Contains over 900,000 digitised books, 1.7 million newspapers covering the period 1618  - 1995 from the Netherlands, Indonesia, Suriname and the Dutch Caribbian,   magazines from 1850-1940 and transcriptions of 1.8 million radio news bulletins from 1937-1989.

Newspapers

Digitised newspapers from 1618 - 1995 are included in Delpher.

 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website
Subjects: Linguistics