Skip to main content

Dutch Language and Literature: Articles & Working Papers

Dutch Language and Literature

Key resources

Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (comprehensive bibliography)

NARCIS, national database; research articles, theses, datasets in full text

Databases A-Z contains subscription e-resources

MLA  Bibliography Indexes journals, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from 1926 to present. Includes some Dutch Studies.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts Covers general linguistics, phonology and phonetics. Covers 1960 to present. Includes some Dutch Studies.

http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/permalink/f/ds4uo7/LGDBaz/31803296ZETOC The British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings in various areas including linguistics. Covers 1993 to present.

Searching for articles

Want to find literature on a certain subject? Don't know any titles yet? Then bibliographic databases are a good place to start.

The Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (Bibliography of Dutch Language and Literature) contains Dutch, Flemish and foreign titles of books, articles, book chapters and reviews from 1940 to date (occasionally with links to full text). The BNTL is maintained by the Huygens Institute.

Articles in full text may be found in NARCIS, a national research database. This database also holds dissertations, datasets and information about organisations.

 A keyword search in MLA or in Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts will bring up some journal articles, book chapters, working papers, book reviews etc. on Dutch language and linguistics. The icon 'Find it at Oxford' will link you to the full text if available. If no full text is available, make a note of the journal title and volume and try and locate the journal via SOLO.

Search articles or book chapters in one of the bibliographic databases in the left column. It may be wise to use all of the databases if you want to be comprehensive. Google  Scholar is popular for its articles in full text, but be aware that only electronically available publications are listed, so you may miss out on older materials that are available in print only.

 

Subject Guide

Johanneke Sytsema's picture
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website
Subjects:Linguistics