Skip to main content

Forestry: Bulletins, Working Plans & Maps

Subjects: Forestry

Search the catalogue

Forestry Bulletin List

You can download a list of bulletin series held in the Forestry collection below. The list is arranged alphabetically by country.

Forestry Maps

A large collection of maps associated with the Forestry Collection was transferred in 2017-18 to the Bodleian Map Room and off-site storage. There is a card catalogue to accompany these maps.

Forestry Microfilm

Many of the back issues of forestry serials and bulletins are available on microfilm or microfiche. They are held offisite.

 

Working Plans List

Forestry Bulletins

The Oxford Forest Information Service has a rich collection of grey literature - most of it donated from all over the world, and some of it dating back to the late 19th century. The bulletins are now held in off-site library storage.

Not all of the material is catalogued on SOLO. The 'Forest Science Database' produced by CABI, acts as a catalogue to the forestry material. Forest Science is available via the Database A-Z .

Bulletin Shelfmarks

When arranged as an Open-shelf collection, forestry bulletins were filed in a hierarchical order - first A-Z by country, then by region, organization and department or other subdivision, and finally by series title. The shelfmarks can still be useful for locating material on SOLO connected to a particular geographical location or organisation. The shelfmarks are idiosyncratic, and mostly abbreviated - so you may need assistance to locate the item you are looking for.

For example, the publications of the US Forest Service department of agriculture have the shelfmark: BN/USA/DeptAgri/ForServ/.

Many bulletins are also filed under 'Misc' followed by the date of publication if they are not in a series. Unfortunately these items are not individually cataloged in most cases. There is also a section 'International' for organizations such as IUFRO (International Organization of Forestry Research Organizations), UN (United Nations) or World Bank.

If you plan to use the Forestry Bulletin Collection contact the Subject Librarian for assistance.

 

Forestry working plans

Working plans / Management plans

These were a compulsory part of the MSc course and its predecessor courses.  They are projects that involved the inventory and proposed management of a particular wood, usually for the succeeding five years. In general,  the MSc working plans covered local Oxfordshire woods, such as Bagley and Wytham woods. The collection also includes many official working plans compiled by the forest services of the respective countries. A list of working plans is available for download from the box on the left.

Location

Working plans are located in off-site storage. They can be requested to a reading room using the SOLO catalogue.

Indian working plans

These are located in the Oriental Institute Library. Please contact staff there for assistance.

Availability on SOLO

All the UK working plans can be found on SOLO, as well as more recently acquired ones from abroad.  The SOLO shelfmark is in the format THESES:WP/UK/Wytham.

There are handlists listing all the working plans available for consultation. You can download a copy freely from the box on the left.

Timber Research Documents

The library holds collections of papers, reports and bulletins focused on timber research covering topics such as wood properties, timber processing, wood preservation, construction using wood, the timber industry etc. At present, these collections are not listed on SOLO but can be searched using card catalogues. Before consulting these collections it is advisable to contact the Life Sciences Subject Librarian to discuss how the material can best be searched and accessed. 

TRADA material

The library holds a large collection of material from the Timber Research And Development Association (TRADA). This material is located in off-site storage. Some of the material is arranged by author name with the remainder arranged according to geographical location, publishing institution or the type of publication. To find material in the collection a card index is available and also an overview listing of the contents which can be downloaded as a spreadsheet using the link below.

BRE material

The Buildings Research Establishment (BRE) collections are held in off-site storage.