Skip to main content

Migration Studies: Journals

Alerts

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).

Citation Searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to

  • Social Science Citation Index, part of Web of Science®, which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.
  • SCOPUS, a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.
  • Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
  • To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

@ProQuest

Social Science Premium Collection

This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

Sociological Abstracts

For more structured literature searching you might try databases on Sociological Abstracts (for politics, policy, social issues).

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Also indexes political science content and includes more non-English language material than the other databases.

Full-text articles

JSTOR

Contains the full-text of many classic journals, some as far back as the 1880s.

Tables of Contents

ZETOC

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. You can -
  • Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings;
  • Set up, modify and delete email Alert;
  • Set up RSS feeds for journals.

The JournalTOCs (Tables of Contents Service)

A searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs) contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 22961 journals directly collected from over 2025 publishers.
Users can find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.